Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2003, 06:37 AM   #1
digitalrampage
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to digitalrampage
New 15" Actually on Apple.com?

Look at the picture of the three models end to end...

Notice something strange about the back of the 15"????

THERE'S NO IRDA WINDOW???

However all 15" models have an irda window on the back right hand side.... unless they discontiued it quietly.?


Whats going on, bluetooth instead of irda? this makes no sense???

http://www.apple.com/powerbook/specs.html
digitalrampage is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 06:52 AM   #2
CrackedButter
macrumors 68040
 
CrackedButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 51st State of America
Having Bluetooth over Irda makes perfect sense.

I have a bluetooth phone and my current (windows) laptop doesn't have bluetooth. Irda is a nightmare to setup and once it is, you cannot really move the phone if need be.

Having Bluetooth is the next step, having bluetooth to link devices now is so much easier. Also have you seen the cost of a bluetooth adapter? I tried to get one for my laptop and it would of cost 90!

Irda is a waste of time if you got bluetooth.
__________________
"Absorb what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own" - Bruce Lee
http://jonathanjk.com
CrackedButter is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 06:53 AM   #3
Tiauguinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Tiauguinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Netherlands
I think that the IrDa port was discontinued when the 800Mhz models were introduced...
__________________
Join MR Folding Team (3446)
Tiauguinho is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 06:56 AM   #4
Dunepilot
macrumors 6502a
 
Dunepilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Send a message via MSN to Dunepilot
I think they might have removed the irda with the introduction of the 867 and 1GHz 15.2" machines before Christmas, but I can't be sure.
__________________
Wii Code - 0279-2698-2658-0111 - Dunepilot
Dunepilot is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 07:17 AM   #5
CrackedButter
macrumors 68040
 
CrackedButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 51st State of America
If one looks at the new pdf factsheet one will see that it doesn't mention anything about an Irda port. Looks like its gone.
__________________
"Absorb what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own" - Bruce Lee
http://jonathanjk.com
CrackedButter is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 08:19 AM   #6
chibianh
macrumors 6502a
 
chibianh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Colorado
Tiauguinho is right. They discontinued with the irDa port with the intro of the 800mhz/667mhz models. I have a ti800 and there is no irda. My brother has a 550 and it's there.
__________________
MBP-R 15" i7 2.6/16GB RAM/512GB SSD
chibianh is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 01:59 PM   #7
saabmp3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Send a message via AIM to saabmp3
My 667 DVI does not have an Irda port. This is the first model not to come with an Irda port.

BEN
saabmp3 is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 02:10 PM   #8
Skandranon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Carolina
Unhappy Shucks.

I wish I had built-in Bluetooth in my 15" SuperDrive Ti.
Skandranon is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 03:18 PM   #9
ExoticFish
macrumors 6502a
 
ExoticFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
Send a message via AIM to ExoticFish Send a message via Skype™ to ExoticFish
samn here!
__________________
20" Intel iMac 2.16GHz C2D, OS X.5
ASUS M51Sn laptop running Ubuntu/Vista
play Dofus on your Mac? try Dofex
ExoticFish is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 04:48 PM   #10
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
The irda port was ended after revision a or b of the tibooks. i noticed this when i was showign a custmomer a powerbook and noticed it there.

iJon
iJon is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 07:25 PM   #11
joed
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Send a message via AIM to joed
When they revise the 15" Ti, they'll probably move all the ports to the sides as per 12" and 17". And because of this, they have changed the way the screen pivots.


James.
joed is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2003, 08:35 PM   #12
saabmp3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Send a message via AIM to saabmp3
I'm so bummed out by that fact because I like how the ports on the back of my machine look. Admitably it can be a pain in the ass to have to look back there and plug them in, but it give the PB a much clearner look when compared to the iBook IMHO.

BEN
saabmp3 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Apple WIIe" & "Apple Piie" My Apple IIe Emulator Projects for Wii & Pi! IIeBoy Apple Collectors 27 Jun 8, 2014 01:49 AM
iPad: Apple Ipad Air screen feels "springy" and "cheap"...... Rockies iPad 20 Nov 2, 2013 01:14 PM
Will Apple ever make a "black" and "white" MBP? Anthony T MacBook Pro 5 Mar 18, 2013 10:34 AM
URGENT: can I "add a line" and "buy full price" at APPLE store? Bossyman iPhone 0 Sep 21, 2012 08:26 AM
"Apple" satellite images newer than "Google" jackal123uk iOS 6 11 Jun 19, 2012 03:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC