Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

karilynn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 30, 2011
Saint Paul, MN
Hi all! I want to use an external monitor with my 13" MBPr (2014 model) and I have never done this before, so I have some questions. I've googled the topic but there is an overwhelming amount of information and I am not very good at things like this, so I would appreciate opinions and advice.

First and foremost, I cannot afford an Apple display, so I need to look at other brands. I used to have a 27" iMac and I loved the size, so if anybody has any monitor suggestions that are comparable to the 27" iMac display, that would be great. I know Apple displays are the cream of the crop and I'm not expecting perfection, but I do want something decent. I'm able to spend up to $300-400.

On top of that, how do I go about connecting my MBPr to the display? Is it as simple as using the thunderbolt connection? Is there a separate cord I need to purchase? It it a complicated process or is it pretty easy to hook up to the display and then unhook the display to use the laptop portably?

Any other advice or words of wisdom? Is having a monitor hooked up to a MBPr pretty comparable to using an iMac? Or would I be better off just saving up my money for another 27" iMac. (had to sell my last one when I lost my job last year) I went with the MBPr instead of another iMac because I liked the idea of portability but I do very much miss the large screen.

Thank you! :p

Freyqq

macrumors 601
Dec 13, 2004
Go for a monitor that has a DisplayPort connection. Then, all you need is a displayport to mini displayport cable, and you can plug it directly into the rmbp without any special adapters.

I have a dell u2412m, and it's pretty nice. Only 24 inches though, but it can be had for ~$250 these days.

Last edited:

philipp092

macrumors newbie
Oct 30, 2014