|
|
| Welcome to the Mac Forums forums. Please read the FAQ if you have questions. Register to participate. |
|
|||||||
| TouchArcade.com - iPhone Game Reviews and News |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2006
|
Alleged screenshots of OS 10.5 Leopard
From the moderator: The link originally posted here has been removed.
Last edited by Doctor Q : Feb 16, 2006 at 12:55 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
macrumors 65816
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
|
it opens in terminal. not right.
__________________
MacBook "Black Edition" 23" ACD Disclaimer: Never take facts I state in a post as totally 100% correct unless otherwise stated. |
|
|
| yankeefan24 |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by yankeefan24 |
|
|
#3 | |
|
macrumors Demi-God
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
macrumors 6502a
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
|
The download is a unix executable file which opens in Terminal but is disguised as a jpeg.
__________________
MB 2.4GHz/2gb/250gb | 20" ACD | TV | iPhone 16GB | Time Capsule
|
|
|
|
|
#5 | |
|
macrumors 65816
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
|
Quote:
__________________
MacBook "Black Edition" 23" ACD Disclaimer: Never take facts I state in a post as totally 100% correct unless otherwise stated. |
|
|
|
| yankeefan24 |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by yankeefan24 |
|
|
#6 |
|
macrumors 68030
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
|
Oh wow, this member should be banned. I downloaded the file and it comes up as a picture file then when I click on it it pops open Terminal and runs something. Looks like someone attempted to make a Mac virus...
Reported. Last edited by Doctor Q : Feb 13, 2006 at 09:05 PM. |
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
macrumors Demi-God
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 | |
|
macrumors 65816
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
|
i noticed the same basic thing.
Quote:
he is creating another thread (if you believe the public profile), watch for more virus attempts. if he is not banned by the time he finsihes.
__________________
MacBook "Black Edition" 23" ACD Disclaimer: Never take facts I state in a post as totally 100% correct unless otherwise stated. |
|
|
|
| yankeefan24 |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by yankeefan24 |
|
|
#9 |
|
macrumors 601
|
That didn't look good from the start so i didn't download it.....yo post starter what are you dealing with, think this is funny?
Bless
__________________
I take everything to Jah in prayer
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
macrumors 6502a
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
|
This guy should really be banned. Only one post and his first post is this.
Thanks for the warnings people.
__________________
Main: AMD Opt 165 2.5Ghz / 8800GTX iPod 5G 30GB |
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
macrumors 6502a
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
|
lol, i downloaded it and ran it. Now if this was a pc, i would have already reformatted and reinstalled it. But since im on a mac right now im just like WTF. has anyone been able to find out what it does exactly. Probably not somthing harmful since you would have had to enter your password.
Edit: whats even funnier is that i was 'lucky' enough to download the file before it was changed by a mod. That person should be banned, even though he is less than likely to comeback.
__________________
iBook G4 14" 1.42ghz, 1.5gb RAM, 100gb 7200rpm Travelstar, 4G iPod 40gb
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
macrumors 68030
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
macrumors 6502a
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
|
Quote:
__________________
iBook G4 14" 1.42ghz, 1.5gb RAM, 100gb 7200rpm Travelstar, 4G iPod 40gb
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2005
|
Quote:
But this could just be a started. I wouldnt be surpised to see a real virus for the mac enter this way. It would not be wide spred becaue it how it needs to be activated. |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
macrumors 6502a
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
|
Quote:
__________________
iBook G4 14" 1.42ghz, 1.5gb RAM, 100gb 7200rpm Travelstar, 4G iPod 40gb
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
macrumors 6502
|
Can someone PM me the link or something so I can see what it does exactly?
__________________
nathanbolender.com 15" MacBook Pro 2.8GHz | 12" PowerBook G4 1.5GHz | iPhone 3GS 16GB |
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
macrumors 65816
|
What is Fire.app? Do all Macs have it?
__________________
[double-click to type your signature] |
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
macrumors 65816
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockford MI
|
Note to self, dont download things from ñ0ºBs
__________________
2.0 Ghz CoreDuo. 2 GB Ram. 80 Gig HDD. Black MacBook |
|
|
|
|
#19 | |
|
macrumors 6502a
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
|
Quote:
__________________
MB 2.4GHz/2gb/250gb | 20" ACD | TV | iPhone 16GB | Time Capsule
|
|
|
|
|
|
#20 | |
|
macrumors 68030
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#21 | |
|
macrumors 65816
|
Quote:
__________________
[double-click to type your signature] |
|
|
|
|
|
#22 | |
|
macrumors 601
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
|
Quote:
If it is a binary then sometimes you can gain som insight by running the "strings" command on it. See "man strings" Technically you don't call these things "virus". This is a clasic "Trojan Horse" Only this attempt was poorly executed |
|
|
|
|
|
#23 |
|
macrumors 68040
|
I'm surprised this hasn't happened more on here...it's so easy to write an applescript file and disguise it as anything...scary!
__________________
Alumium MacBook 2.0Ghz C2D | 2GB RAM | 320GB HD | Snow Leopard |
|
|
|
|
#24 |
|
macrumors Demi-God
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: On top of the Storm Peaks waiting for the Time-Lost Proto Drake
|
Man why do I always miss out on all the fun!
![]() I didnt see the terminal app that was run or anything but by descriptions it sounds like the noob was trying to get into a users computer via a chat app. |
|
|
|
|
#25 | |
|
macrumors 68030
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|