Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yalag

Suspended
Original poster
Nov 18, 2007
I'm a dev with some time on my hands. SDK available next month. What is the coolest app idea you have?

macrumors 68040
Dec 16, 2011
I was semi hoping for a camera, cause then I could have Skype calls on my watch :cool:

However, I'd like an app that could integrate with the trolley system that my (soon to be :p) university uses, that would say buzz or send a notification when the trolley is about to come by my location/dorm.

iFanaddic

macrumors 6502a
Sep 24, 2008
Montréal, Canada
I'm a dev with some time on my hands. SDK available next month. What is the coolest app idea you have?

I want shazam to display the lyrics of the currently playing song on my Apple Watch, Karaoke on-the-go

I was also thinking the watch could create playlists according to heartbeat, time of day, locations etc..

I hope if someone ends up making millions out of the ideas they'll give me credit

Last edited:

GreenAustin

macrumors member
Sep 17, 2014

It's difficult in some respects to formulate an idea without specifics regarding watch kit. I'm concerned the watch apps will be more of an extension than a stand alone app which would require an app on phone. That'd change any app ideas I might have at this moment...

HereBeMonsters

macrumors 6502
Jul 5, 2012
Fareham, UK
Bathroom break timer.

Put in your annual salary, hours you work, holidays etc. and it works out your hourly rate.

Then, when you go to the bathroom at work, you start the timer. Stop it when you get back to your desk, and that's how much your company just paid you to poo.

Piggie

macrumors G3
Feb 23, 2010
I think we can all see a problem here.

Someone asked a genuine question and we're struggling to think of much we'd want on out wrist, other than time, some notifications and perhaps some health monitoring stuff.