Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2006, 10:15 PM   #1
calebjohnston
macrumors 68000
 
calebjohnston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to calebjohnston Send a message via MSN to calebjohnston
About external monitor + ibook

iBook g4.

Is it possible to just plug in an external display and use it along with the laptop's screen as a second display? I've never used a second display, just thought it'd be cool to try. I'm not at home so I can't just go ahead and try it or I would have already.

Thanks.
calebjohnston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2006, 10:18 PM   #2
CoMpX
macrumors 65816
 
CoMpX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via AIM to CoMpX
Quote:
Originally Posted by calebjohnston
iBook g4.

Is it possible to just plug in an external display and use it along with the laptop's screen as a second display? I've never used a second display, just thought it'd be cool to try. I'm not at home so I can't just go ahead and try it or I would have already.

Thanks.
From the factory, the iBook is only capable of screen mirroring. That is, it just shows a duplicate image of what is on it's own display on the external display. To use the iBook with the external and a second display, in other words adding more screen space, you need to use a screen spanning hack. Just do a Google search and you should find tons. I am not recommending this or anything because I have never tried it and it is NOT supported by Apple. Use at your own risk.
__________________
[double-click to type your signature]
CoMpX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2006, 10:32 PM   #3
calebjohnston
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
calebjohnston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to calebjohnston Send a message via MSN to calebjohnston
Ah, that's what I figured. Bummer. I'm not going to go messing with that.

Thanks anyway.
calebjohnston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2006, 11:45 PM   #4
frankblundt
macrumors 65816
 
frankblundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South of the border
it does work (but best for being able to bump up the external screen to a higher resolution than the LCD can do, rather than running your desktop across two screens) but using it VOIDS YOUR WARRANTY.
frankblundt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 07:16 PM   #5
20rogersc
macrumors 65816
 
20rogersc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, UK
I've been using the Screen Spanning Doctor for a while now and have had no problems.

::20ROGERSC::
20rogersc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 08:15 PM   #6
calebjohnston
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
calebjohnston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to calebjohnston Send a message via MSN to calebjohnston
maybe when my warranty runs out. I just bought this one, no point in voiding it now.
calebjohnston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:06 PM   #7
kahlva
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Related To This...kinda

I would LOVE to use an external monitor with my ibook G4 (1.33 ghz)

Anybody have any suggestions of the best kind? I'm looking for either a 19" or a 23/24"...

Also - can I just plug it into the iBook, or do I need to get a special cable?


Thanks!

Greg.
kahlva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:11 PM   #8
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
you'll need this adapter, which should have shipped with your iBook.

http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPL...ore=M8639G%2FA

__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:13 PM   #9
frankblundt
macrumors 65816
 
frankblundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South of the border
it only depends whether you set a montior with a vga or dvi input and whether the iBook has a matching output. Adaptors are readily available in any case.

The iBooks are limited to mirroring however (ie you see the same thing at the same resolution as on the iBook on the external monitor) If you want spanning (the ability to have a different - higher - resolution setting on the external or the ability to "span" your desktop across both screens simultaneously) you need to hack the firmware, as described above.
frankblundt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:14 PM   #10
kahlva
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Related, Kinda

I do have the adapter - just wasn't sure that would be the right one.

Any recommendations of good monitors for 19", 21", 24"?

And anything else I should know? I'm using this for ProTools music, editing sessions so I need a bigger screen to see more at once.


Thanks again!

Greg
kahlva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:15 PM   #11
kahlva
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Oh, and I actually do want it to be a mirror (exactly what's on the iBook screen). I don't think I need more resolution - I just need to a larger screen!

Umm...right?


Thanks again again,

A guy who thought he knew something about computers at one time...
kahlva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:19 PM   #12
2nyRiggz
macrumors 603
 
2nyRiggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
Send a message via AIM to 2nyRiggz
you do know even if you mirror your vram will be split between the external monitor and ibook......the screen spanning doctor is safe i have been using it for some time now with no problems what so ever.

without the SPD....your resolution will stay at the same as the ibook so if u get a monitor with a high res...it wont look too nice.

Bless
__________________
I take everything to Jah in prayer
2ny, do something righteous with your life..
2nyRiggz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:19 PM   #13
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
if you want to see more at once you will need a higher resolution... otherwise you'll see the same stuff, only bigger
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:22 PM   #14
kahlva
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Ah! Really? So if I need to scroll left or right (or up or down) to see something on my iBook ...that problem is not solved with simply plugging in a larger monitor?
kahlva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:24 PM   #15
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
nope, not unless you have the monitor on a different resolution from the iBook.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:27 PM   #16
2nyRiggz
macrumors 603
 
2nyRiggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
Send a message via AIM to 2nyRiggz
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution
nope, not unless you have the monitor on a different resolution from the iBook.
which is not possible without the SPD. sorry kid you are stuck.


Bless
__________________
I take everything to Jah in prayer
2ny, do something righteous with your life..
2nyRiggz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:27 PM   #17
calebjohnston
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
calebjohnston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to calebjohnston Send a message via MSN to calebjohnston
Just remember, ibook's have to be open to stay on -- even with an external display, etc attached.

There's always the hack for that too, but I don't think you want your ibook overheating and exploding into a ball of flames with reat rivaled only by the sun itself. Ouch.
calebjohnston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:28 PM   #18
kahlva
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
OK, thanks very much I think I'm clear now.

To be able to have more screen space (see more than what's on the iBook screen), I need to use that Screen Spanning Doctor hack.

Otherwise the screen will be exactly the same, just larger.

Right?
kahlva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:35 PM   #19
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
yep.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:36 PM   #20
frankblundt
macrumors 65816
 
frankblundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South of the border
right. and don't shut your iBook.
frankblundt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:47 PM   #21
shrimpdesign
macrumors 6502a
 
shrimpdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankblundt
snip ... but using it VOIDS YOUR WARRANTY.
It doesn't say anything like that on the SSD website ... or does messing with the Firmware always void the warrenty?
__________________
15" Unibody MacBook Pro (mid-2009) 2.53Ghz / 4GB / 256GB SSD
iPhone 3GS Black 32GB
shrimpdesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:53 PM   #22
frankblundt
macrumors 65816
 
frankblundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South of the border
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpdesign
It doesn't say anything like that on the SSD website ... or does messing with the Firmware always void the warrenty?
maybe that was just paranoid rambling from the guys who have our tech support contract, but i thought i had read it somewhere - worth checking with Apple first in any case.
frankblundt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:58 PM   #23
20rogersc
macrumors 65816
 
20rogersc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, UK
You could probably get away with it if the problem is not screen-related . . . ?
Oh well, my warranty's ended now anyway

::20ROGERSC::
20rogersc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I run a dual monitor setup with my MacBook Pro with one external monitor? shearerlisaj MacBook Pro 3 Sep 20, 2014 12:11 AM
rMBP 13" & external monitor usage: rMBP sleeps when monitor off, and lidwake 0 vexingv MacBook Pro 0 Nov 24, 2013 10:55 AM
Color and sharpness on external monitor noticeably inferior to Macbook monitor Axemantitan Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 19, 2013 02:01 PM
Trying everything to us an external monitor... Sinergy123 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 13, 2012 10:46 PM
ibook G4 (dead monitor) transfer to MBP wadada MacBook Pro 10 Oct 19, 2012 08:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC