Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2003, 01:41 PM   #1
mnkeybsness
macrumors 68030
 
mnkeybsness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Moneyapolis, Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to mnkeybsness
mac and pc in one box

http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/s...413988,00.html

check it out...this would be very expensive...i don't see why they didn't just build a pc in another box and hide it in the closet so you don't have to look at it's ugliness...and then bought a powermac to keep on the desk...then just buy the usb kvm switch
__________________
Scribbls - a collaborative drawing community designed to combine drawings into outcomes—no talent required.
mnkeybsness is offline   0
Old Jan 21, 2003, 01:56 PM   #2
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Has been done before...like the PowerMac 6100 with 486 SX 33 Mhz compatibility card... or the PCI Pentium 166 MMX PC compatibility card.
They were pretty expensive, and did not really sell too well.
They were fun though
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.

Last edited by MacsRgr8; Jan 21, 2003 at 02:45 PM.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0
Old Jan 21, 2003, 02:24 PM   #3
Over Achiever
macrumors 68000
 
Over Achiever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
Send a message via AIM to Over Achiever Send a message via Yahoo to Over Achiever Send a message via Skype™ to Over Achiever
I must say that it looks like an interesting idea.

Now if the LCD was an 23" or even a 40" LCD TV that supported PIP...just think.

You're working on a dual processor setup, have a little window running a fast PC, and another little window watching cable TV or playstation, whatever. Interesting idea I must say

Then again, i need to be filthy rich with nothing to do. But if i'm rich, then why would I even make a dual operating system computer when I can buy the high end from both types, an awesome LCD, and a killer plasma TV. ^_^
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment."
Panasonic Lumix GF1 • 11" MBA | Dell XT • Google Nexus One
Over Achiever is offline   0
Old Jan 21, 2003, 03:31 PM   #4
iShater
macrumors Demi-God
 
iShater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicagoland
Wow!

That is pretty cool!

Now here is my question, would that thing fit inside a PowerMac? if so, I think it would be a great alternative to VPC in the sense that you have a fast machine available withing your system.

Of course, what would still suck is the integration between the two the way VPC can integrate the clipboard and do file sharing.

Thoughts? anybody got money and a PM and the will to try this on a system and give us the result?

I wonder if this company can find a new market for its products for switchers "Still need a little PC in your Mac?"
__________________
Insert signature here.
iShater is offline   0
Old Jan 21, 2003, 08:34 PM   #5
mnkeybsness
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
mnkeybsness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Moneyapolis, Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to mnkeybsness
it would definately NOT fit in a powermac
__________________
Scribbls - a collaborative drawing community designed to combine drawings into outcomes—no talent required.
mnkeybsness is offline   0
Old Jan 21, 2003, 10:11 PM   #6
snoopy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portland, OR
I know a software developer who bought an x86 PCI card for his Mac, and would toggle back and forth while developing both versions, Mac and PC, at once. He said it saved time since he caught problems immediately. He never had to "port" one version to the other, and kept everything on one hard drive. Anyway, maybe nobody is making these cards today. The developer quit doing Windows, and stopped installing the card when he got new Macs. I believe his was made by Orange Micro.
snoopy is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type of box-opening utensil will you use to open the iPhone's shipping box? ajcadoo Wasteland 15 Sep 18, 2012 01:18 AM
Need some help: Apple MacBook Air box dimensions/weight (shipped box) mikethewxguy MacBook Air 9 Jun 29, 2012 12:50 PM
What Flat rate box will 13" MBP Box fit in (USPS) Gator24765 MacBook Pro 7 Jun 13, 2012 02:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC