Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2006, 10:01 PM   #1
UWF404
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Powerbook Desktop?

Last night I dropped my 12" Powerbook and hosed the LCD screen. It's toast so I now have a Powerbook desktop. This might be a dumb question but can I use the Powerbook with keyboard and mouse with LCD closed? I'd like to attach a monitor to it but not sure if it can be used with the lid shut??
UWF404 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2006, 10:22 PM   #2
japasneezemonk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nomad
Quote:
Originally Posted by UWF404
Last night I dropped my 12" Powerbook and hosed the LCD screen. It's toast so I now have a Powerbook desktop. This might be a dumb question but can I use the Powerbook with keyboard and mouse with LCD closed? I'd like to attach a monitor to it but not sure if it can be used with the lid shut??
You can definetly use it with the lid shut. Just hook up the external monitor and power brick and the PB should detect the display.
japasneezemonk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2006, 10:26 PM   #3
jrk07
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Send a message via AIM to jrk07
I remember seeing one of the MacRumor member's setup where he had a Powerbook in a drawer with it hooked up to his monitor/keyboard/mouse and would look and work great when the drawer was closed.

Sorry to hear what happened tho. I've never had a laptop and I always fear that this is what I'd end up doing if I ever got one. I would probably be safer with the iBook so I don't dent the crap out of it. Good luck with your "desktop" setup Powerbook.
jrk07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2006, 10:36 PM   #4
p0intblank
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Jersey
As the others are saying, yes, you can definitely do this. Sorry to hear about your accident. But hey, think on the bright side... you have an extremely thin desktop now.

Heads will turn!
__________________
The #1 source for accessories compatible with Apple's new Mac Pro
Have a suggestion? Contact me here!
p0intblank is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2006, 11:44 PM   #5
LimeiBook86
macrumors 604
 
LimeiBook86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
Send a message via AIM to LimeiBook86 Send a message via MSN to LimeiBook86 Send a message via Yahoo to LimeiBook86
Ouch, sorry to hear about your PowerBook. Here's a few tips to get your PowerBook running on an external display without using the built-in 12" LCD screen.

First you need to hook up an external monitor to your PowerBook, now plug in a USB keyboard or mouse. Then put the PowerBook to sleep. When the PowerBook is asleep and the lid is closed click the external mouse or press the space bar on the external keyboard. This will cause the PowerBook to wake up and disable the built-in LCD screen. The PowerBook may get warmer than usual but, once it disabled the LCD screen you can open the lid to help it cool off.

Hope that works
__________________
My 'How to Draw Fun Animals' iBook is now on iTunes
"Just you try and stop me..."
My Site Thrift Fails Tech Blog
LimeiBook86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2006, 04:52 PM   #6
UWF404
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Thanks for the tips.. I was able to set this up connecting the monitor and peripherals directly to the Powerbook but have had no luck with a KVM switch.

I was trying to share the keyboard, mouse and VGA monitor with the a PC and the Powerbook. I'm using a IOGEAR KVM, 2 port USB switch. I've got a Apple keyboard, USB mouse and VGA plugged in to the IOGEAR KVM. However the switch does not seem to recognize the Powerbook as powered. The LED on the IOGEAR for the Powerbook does not come on. It works fine for the PC but nothing for the MAC. It is a multi platform KVM and supports MAC and Win via USB.

Am I missing something??
UWF404 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the difference mount box drive on desktop vs box's native desktop app?? PicnicTutorials Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 29, 2014 02:14 PM
Desktop suddenly darkens and menu bar and desktop icons disappear vonglower OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jan 15, 2014 06:17 AM
Remote desktop from Powerbook to Mac Mini (intel) -dms- PowerPC Macs 3 Mar 4, 2013 08:30 PM
Mission Control: moving windows from desktop to desktop? Franciturci OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jun 20, 2012 05:08 AM
Can I make Desktop 1 exclusively for an app; or default other apps to desktop 2? alexjholland Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jun 18, 2012 09:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC