Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Old Feb 20, 2006, 05:14 PM   #1
dharma
macrumors newbie

Inserting an image & text in NSTableView

Hi Folks,

I'd like to insert image and text in the same cell in NSTableview, and the images are different in the different rows. What I know is to use a delegate method

-(void)tableView: WillDisplayCell: forTableColumn: row:
{

}

But I've no idea how I should implement the method. Would anyone help me please. I'm really new in Cocoa, so your detailed explanation is very helpful to me.

Thanks
dharma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 02:40 AM   #2
caveman_uk

From borkware http://www.borkware.com/quickies/one?topic=NSString
Quote:
Putting an image into an attributed string
You'll need to use a text attachment.

Code:
- (NSAttributedString *) prettyName
{
    NSTextAttachment *attachment;
    attachment = [[[NSTextAttachment alloc] init] autorelease];
    NSCell *cell = [attachment attachmentCell];

NSImage *icon = [self icon]; // or wherever you are getting your image
    [cell setImage: icon];

NSString *name = [self name];
    NSAttributedString *attrname;
    attrname = [[NSAttributedString alloc] initWithString: name];

NSMutableAttributedString *prettyName;
    prettyName = (id)[NSMutableAttributedString attributedStringWithAttachment:
                                                attachment]; // cast to quiet compiler warning
    [prettyName appendAttributedString: attrname];

return (prettyName);

} // prettyName

This puts the image at the front of the string. To put the image in the middle of the string, you'll need to create an attributedstring with attachment, and then append that to your final attributed string.

This puts the image at the front of the string. To put the image in the middle of the string, you'll need to create an attributedstring with attachment, and then append that to your final attributed string.