Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2006, 10:03 PM   #1
JCRIVERO
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
iMovie Frozen

I just upgraded my graphics card to a Radeon 800Xt to support a new 30 inch screen. Everything works fine except iMovie. The application opens from dock, reads files, but does not respond when I click on clips and will not respond to mouse for closing (although it can be quit via menu). Has anyone else experienced problems with iMovie when upgrading graphics cards? Any ideas on how to diagnose or fix problme?
JCRIVERO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2006, 10:37 PM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
That sucks.

Maybe try the usual removal of preferences. In this case, try dragging a file or two named com.apple.iMovie.plist to the Desktop and reopen iMovie.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 05:24 AM   #3
JCRIVERO
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Thanks MJ--but I tried that and it doesn't work. It's strange, the menu driven commands all work (things like export, quit, open....except for "select all) but I can't activate anything in the iMovie window with the mouse. The movie files are on an external drive, but it's reading the data so I know the drive is working. I have to think this has something to do with the new graphics card.
JCRIVERO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 05:31 AM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Were there two preference files?

I reckon it may be worthwhile to test your theory. Do you still have the old GPU? If so, throw it back in and see how iMovie likes it. Is this possible?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 08:32 AM   #5
JCRIVERO
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
You read my mind, MJ. As soon as I get home I am going to try the old card. I don't like to keep mucking around in there--but that is one way to isolate the problem. Before I do that, though, I thought I'd re-install ilife '06 (which I've been using for the last month) to see if for some reason imovie is hung up on the old hardware. What do you think?

There was only one preference file for imovie.
JCRIVERO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 04:39 PM   #6
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, a reinstall certainly couldn't hurt. Best of luck with the GPU replacement if it comes to that.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 04:54 PM   #7
ChrisFromCanada
macrumors 65816
 
ChrisFromCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
You may just want to delete iMovie and just replace that ot save yourself some time.

Did you try to repair permissions?
__________________
Powermac G5 - Dual 2.5 GHz
SR Macbook Pro - 2.2GHz
Xbox 360
30GB iPod Video
Sony DCR-PC105
ChrisFromCanada is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moved from iMovie HD to iMovie 8 and can't use a diskimage for storage barkmonster Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 22, 2013 03:00 PM
Would moving imovie 11 to a computer that has imovie 9 work? jsm209 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 7, 2013 05:08 AM
MacBook Is frozen MacUser13! Mac Basics and Help 1 Feb 11, 2013 10:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC