Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2006, 09:04 AM   #1
popsandfriends
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Powerbook G4 550mhz, random freezes

Hello,
The title pretty much sums it up. My powerbook which i just got off of eBay has been acting up. After a short amount of time, it will just lockup/ The cursor freezes, the screen freezes in place, and it wont sleep. It just has to be restarted. This usually happens when I press the command or space key, or when I am typing something into safari's text area, but it also happens randomly. Is there a software fix for this?

PS -I have the newest 10.4.5 installed


Hunter
popsandfriends is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 10:10 AM   #2
ewoh24
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by popsandfriends
Hello,
The title pretty much sums it up. My powerbook which i just got off of eBay has been acting up. After a short amount of time, it will just lockup/ The cursor freezes, the screen freezes in place, and it wont sleep. It just has to be restarted. This usually happens when I press the command or space key, or when I am typing something into safari's text area, but it also happens randomly. Is there a software fix for this?

PS -I have the newest 10.4.5 installed


Hunter

Have you run Disk Utility and repaired permissions?
ewoh24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 12:35 PM   #3
popsandfriends
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Well, i fixed the complete lockup problem, it wa actually a hardware issue. But now, everything I try and do, like open safari, browse a folder, even in the middle of repairing permissions in disk utility, brings up the spinning beach ball!!! its driving me nuts, it never goes away either, always needs to restart!
popsandfriends is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 12:37 PM   #4
calebjohnston
macrumors 68000
 
calebjohnston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to calebjohnston Send a message via MSN to calebjohnston
Did the seller promise you fully functional operation? Sounds like that dude wasn't entirely honest.
calebjohnston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 02:43 PM   #5
popsandfriends
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
he did, but i dont think it was his fault. My best guess is that its some sort of Tiger Operating system bug, maybe you know of a fix for something like this?
popsandfriends is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 02:54 PM   #6
spinne1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
Whenever I have had the spinning beach ball over and over, only one thing ever fixed it: A complete backup of my files, a reformat of the hard drive, a test of the hard drive condition with Disk Utility or something better, then a fresh install of OS X, then a manual reinstall of all programs that are not part of the OS, then a manual put back of the files. It has happened twice where something got corrupted and it would not be fixed, no matter how many caches or preferences I threw away or cleaned, or how many times I reset open firmware, reset the apps, repaired permissions, or ran all the maintenance tasks that the various utilities I have will run.
__________________
Mac Mini 1.83GHz Core 2 Duo, & Mac Mini 1.83Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram each, IBM P 260 21" CRT for each

Last edited by spinne1; Feb 26, 2006 at 03:17 PM.
spinne1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 03:07 PM   #7
calebjohnston
macrumors 68000
 
calebjohnston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to calebjohnston Send a message via MSN to calebjohnston
yeah, i hate to say it, but maybe an erase and install is the best option. use the CD you got with the computer and select the erase and install option (after backing up files)
calebjohnston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 03:36 PM   #8
imac abuser
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Sounds bad, but time to buy a macbook hehe how much ram?
imac abuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 05:17 PM   #9
popsandfriends
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
never got the CD's with it

It's got 512mb ram which is pretty good, I'm thinkin about selling the unit, its in GREAT shape just on the software end needs some tweaking. You're right tho, its probably necessary to do a full reformat
popsandfriends is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 05:56 PM   #10
imac abuser
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
yeah that would be a great place to start, reformating
__________________
iMac 21.5" 2.8 gHz Quad Core i7, 16GB Ram, 2TB HD / iPad Air 128gb White / iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Silver / 160 GB Video iPod Silver / 16 GB Nano / Apple TV 2 and 3
imac abuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
near random freezes phrehdd Mac mini 6 Mar 7, 2014 01:30 PM
Netflix not working and random freezes that1guyy MacBook Pro 3 Feb 9, 2014 05:07 PM
Seemingly Random but Brief Freezes Marble OS X Mavericks (10.9) 6 Oct 24, 2013 12:54 PM
iMac random freezes and reboots. markoid63 iMac 8 May 26, 2013 05:49 AM
Completely Random Crashes and Freezes mroctopus MacBook Pro 1 Jul 23, 2012 09:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC