Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2006, 09:34 AM   #1
goliah
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Old biege G3 upgrade

Just recently I upgaraded my veteren biege G3 running at 266Mhz with a Sonnet 1000Mhz card which has added a bit of sparkle to my computing. I continue to use OS 9.2.1. I also have a second back up HD installed, But my thought is that now with the machine running fast enough to upgrade the OS, I might load the second drive with OSX and then swap around when I need to use older software. Is this possible or do I need to use a partitioned single HD? Any thoughts?
goliah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 10:59 AM   #2
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by goliah
Just recently I upgaraded my veteren biege G3 running at 266Mhz with a Sonnet 1000Mhz card which has added a bit of sparkle to my computing. I continue to use OS 9.2.1. I also have a second back up HD installed, But my thought is that now with the machine running fast enough to upgrade the OS, I might load the second drive with OSX and then swap around when I need to use older software. Is this possible or do I need to use a partitioned single HD? Any thoughts?
Your G3 will run MacOS X 10.2.8 out the box and later versions of MacOS X with XPostFacto. MacOS X is intended to coexist with MacOS 9 on a single partition. You may install it on a separate partitiion, but that is not necessary. If you want to preserve your installation of MacOS 9, you will need to non-destructively convert its file system to HFS+.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 11:05 AM   #3
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
Your machine can do Jaguar natively, or Panther or Tiger with Postfacto. You may want to up the RAM to its max of 768MB and install at least a Rage128 card, though preferably one of the Radeon 7000/9200 cards or a flashed PCI FX5200.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 11:07 AM   #4
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Slightly on topic...

How easy was it to install the 1 GHz G3 upgrade? I've been thinking about getting one for my Power Mac.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 11:43 AM   #5
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 601
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
While OS X can coexist with 9, I've found that when using XPostFacto, Classic and direct-boot-9 are more stable when installing X to a separate partition than 9, then installing a SECOND copy of 9 on the OS X partition to use just for Classic. (It only matters if you plan on dual-booting regularly. If you plan on using X exclusively, go ahead and stay with one partition.)

One thing to consider is the beige's 8 GB ATA limit. OS X must be installed on the first partition on a given drive, and that partition must be under 8 GB. (Use 7.7 to be safe.) This is due to a limitation in the beige's hardware, and can only be fixed by using a SCSI hard drive, or an add-in hard drive controller. (This only applies to ATA drives.) It can be on ANY ATA drive, but it must be in the first 8 GB. The installer will warn you of this.

So if you have a drive larger than 8 GB you want to install on to, you will need to partition it. (It doesn't have to be installed to the 'primary' drive, and it will recognize larger drives/partitions that aren't the boot drive, but it can only boot from a max-8-GB partition.)
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 12:56 PM   #6
madmax_2069
macrumors 6502a
 
madmax_2069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Springfield Ohio
Ive herd the Radeon 9200 has a few problems with the Beige G3 in OS 9.x i dont know if its true or not. Ive seen people with the Radeon 9200 installed on there Beige G3 on the apple Disscussion forums and they say it works great I my self didnt have the money to buy a 9200 so i opt for a 7000 it is not as fast as the orignal radeon and the 9200 cause the 7000 dont have the TCL engine on it and it relys on the cpu for it insted of the card
__________________
Digital Audio, Yikes, Beige G3 AIO, Newton MP 2100, IIgs, P475, HP D530SFF, Wyse winterm 3360se
http://www.Apple2online.com
madmax_2069 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 01:13 PM   #7
macg4
macrumors 6502a
 
macg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Des Moines,Iowa
Send a message via AIM to macg4 Send a message via Yahoo to macg4
Yeah its possible to do so. i have a beige desktop with a 350mhz g3 overlocked to 366mhz/384ram/ and i have 2 40gig hds in it. one in the bottom where its normally located, and another one on the top level next to the cd drive, right above the zip drive(if u have one). works well with 2 hds in it. one has osx and one has backup files on it. hope that helps
__________________
~~Chris Slaymaker~~
http://macg4.biz.ly
macg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 05:29 PM   #8
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 601
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
whoops, double post. See below.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 05:29 PM   #9
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 601
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmax_2069
Ive herd the Radeon 9200 has a few problems with the Beige G3 in OS 9.x i dont know if its true or not. Ive seen people with the Radeon 9200 installed on there Beige G3 on the apple Disscussion forums and they say it works great I my self didnt have the money to buy a 9200 so i opt for a 7000 it is not as fast as the orignal radeon and the 9200 cause the 7000 dont have the TCL engine on it and it relys on the cpu for it insted of the card
Hadn't hard about the 9200 problems.

As for the 7000, it is the same core logic as the Radeon, full onboard T&L. It's just slower. I had an original Radeon in one beige, and a 7000 in the other, otherwise identical specs between the two computers; and most OpenGL games were within 5% of each other.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you have an AT&T early iPhone upgrade? Check to see if today is a full upgrade... POLBOSS iPhone 0 Nov 23, 2013 02:40 PM
Upgrade wife's 2006 MacBook or trade her and upgrade my 2009 MBP? doctuh MacBook Pro 3 Nov 15, 2013 11:27 PM
[UPGRADE] Base 2012 Mac Mini SSD and Memory Upgrade That-Guy Mac mini 43 Apr 14, 2013 09:52 PM
High page outs after ram upgrade and Mtn lion upgrade Squiggles13 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 7, 2012 08:57 PM
13" MBP RAM upgrade = HD3000 VRAM upgrade? Doggman MacBook Pro 5 Aug 17, 2012 03:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC