Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2006, 08:57 AM   #1
Temujin
macrumors 6502a
 
Temujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
AccuWeather Widget stating wrong temperatures

My Accu Weather Widget is stating wrong temperatures here in Copenhagen.

According to the widget it's -16 degrees (celsius) and snowing. It's actually more like 2 degrees (celsius) and the sun is out.

Is your Accu Weather Widget showing the right information, or is it only here in Copenhagen we get the wrong stats?
Temujin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:04 AM   #2
Danksi
macrumors 68000
 
Danksi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nelson, BC. Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temujin
My Accu Weather Widget is stating wrong temperatures here in Copenhagen.

According to the widget it's -16 degrees (celsius) and snowing. It's actually more like 2 degrees (celsius) and the sun is out.

Is your Accu Weather Widget showing the right information, or is it only here in Copenhagen we get the wrong stats?
It's about as accurate as any other forecast for this area - best to just look out the window every so often and guess for yourself.
__________________
Kootenay Mountain Biking
Danksi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:04 AM   #3
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Interesting, the Accuweather web page shows 0 degrees, mostly cloudy. Is the widget always that far wrong for you? Maybe it is picking up the wrong city?
iMeowbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:09 AM   #4
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
FWIW, the Weather Widget uses the URL:

http://apple.accuweather.com/adcbin/...?zipcode=_____

where _____ is a zip code in the States and a city name elsewhere (i.e., your URL is "http://apple.accuweather.com/adcbin/apple/Apple_Weather_Data.asp?zipcode=copenhagen"), and maybe some mix in other places.

If you look at the source once fetching that URL, you'll see that it's what the widget shows - good or bad. You'll also see that there is an enormous amount of info which is not shown in the widget.

Note that Safari gloms it all together - you'll need to View Source to see the XML structure.

Edit: when I enter "Copenhagen" into the widget, I see the 0ºC temp as well. Perhaps yours needs to be refreshed?
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:11 AM   #5
Temujin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Temujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMeowbot
Interesting, the Accuweather web page shows 0 degrees, mostly cloudy. Is the widget always that far wrong for you? Maybe it is picking up the wrong city?
It's usually spot on. Also checked the website, strange.... and I checked the selected city once again, all seems to check out fine. Im just getting the wrong data in the widget. Hmmmm
Temujin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:18 AM   #6
Temujin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Temujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Checked the url again. http://wwwa.accuweather.com/index-fo...ode=Copenhagen

It seems to be collecting weather stats from NY. Ever heard of a place in NY called Copenhagen?
Temujin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:22 AM   #7
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Yes - when you enter "Copenhagen" into the widget (which you might want to re-enter, or open a new widget), you need to verify which one - as you can see, it's much colder here in the northeastern US. The URL you listed uses 'index-forecast' as opposed to 'index-world-forecast' - slightly different URLs, that's all.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:23 AM   #8
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temujin
It seems to be collecting weather stats from NY. Ever heard of a place in NY called Copenhagen?
Ha! Yes, there is such a place, right next to Denmark, New York

Okay, the widget seems to want the city name as:

Copenhagen, Denmark(Staden Kobenhavn)

Does that work for you?
iMeowbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:24 AM   #9
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMeowbot
Ha! Yes, there is such a place, right next to Denmark, New York

Okay, the widget seems to want the city name as:

Copenhagen, Denmark(Staden Kobenhavn)

Does that work for you?
Works for me - and when I simply enter "Copenhagen", it prompts me with a list of options.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 09:33 AM   #10
Temujin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Temujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Wont work. Don't even get the list when typing Copenhagen. I'll try a restart and reopen the widget.


Edit.: Didn't know you had to press enter when wanting to get the list.

Thanks guys, works fine now.

According to Accuweather there is a Copenhagen in NY and South Africa. Thats news to me.

http://www.city-data.com/city/Copenhagen-New-York.html
can't find the one in South Africa

Last edited by Temujin; Feb 27, 2006 at 09:42 AM.
Temujin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amazon Solid State Drives pricing Project7 Buying Tips and Advice 4 Aug 8, 2012 09:39 AM
MBP 8,2 Quad Core MacBook Pro Temperature..why does everyone say it will be hotter?!! NickZac MacBook Pro 20 Apr 14, 2011 08:43 AM
Solid State Drive (SSD) Upgraded HD: Chart, Explanation, Brands & Performance Stats!! NickZac MacBook Pro 53 Dec 31, 2010 03:55 PM
Question about acceptable operating temperature and thermal overload NickZac MacBook Pro 10 Dec 16, 2010 12:26 AM
Calendar and Accuweather Widget Font omnibahumut Mac Basics and Help 6 Feb 2, 2009 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC