Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

darrenc95

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 24, 2014
I currently use a mid-2012 MacBook Pro (non-Retina) and while it works fine, sometimes I wish I had a slightly longer battery to work with (I'm a college student, so I go to and from class a lot, and it would be nice to not have to lug a cord around all the time), and I am more drawn to the design of the MacBook Air. Silly things to consider buying a new computer for, sure, but this comes at a time when a friend wants a Mac and is considering buying mine from me.

Let's assume I sell for about $700, since my MBP is a 13" model with the largest RAM option.

If I do sell and get a MBA, my main concern is whether I should get 4 or 8 gigs of memory. (256GB SSD is a given since I am currently approaching 100GB of hard drive usage on my Pro.) I don't do any fancy things such as gaming, graphic design, or video editing, but I am a very heavy internet user. I would like to be able to get the 4GB version and save some money if possible.

All things considered, I'm wondering if this is worth it. I'm leaning towards doing it, but I want some extra opinions. Also, if you could give feedback on RAM, that'd be great.

Last edited:

motrek

macrumors 68030
Sep 14, 2012
I currently use a mid-2012 MacBook Pro (non-Retina) and while it works fine, sometimes I wish I had a slightly longer battery to work with (I'm a college student, so I go to and from class a lot, and it would be nice to not have to lug a cord around all the time), and I am more drawn to the design of the MacBook Air. Silly things to consider buying a new computer for, sure, but this comes at a time when a friend wants a Mac and is considering buying mine from me.

Let's assume I sell for about $700, since my MBP is a 13" model with the largest RAM option.