Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2006, 08:41 PM   #1
wheezy
macrumors 65816
 
wheezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Alpine, UT
Can I upgrade my Powerbook from 32MB to 64MB?

Hi, the Powerbook in my sig has a GeForce FX Go5200 32MB card in it. Is there anyway to up that to 64MB?
__________________
MacBook Pro 17" 2.4 i7, 16GB, OWC 120GB SSD+750GB HDD * iPhone 4S 16GB White
Canon 7D * 17-40 F4L, 135 F2L, 50 1.4 USM * PCB Einstein
personal / 500px / web design
wheezy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 08:44 PM   #2
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheezy
Hi, the Powerbook in my sig has a GeForce FX Go5200 32MB card in it. Is there anyway to up that to 64MB?
Yes. Order a new powerbook or macbook, and pencil in "UPGRADE" on the receipt. Sorry. That's about it.
__________________
Mira C. Krishnan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 10:17 PM   #3
EvilDoc
macrumors 6502a
 
EvilDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Circumventing the multi-verse...
Send a message via AIM to EvilDoc Send a message via Yahoo to EvilDoc
[QUOTE=wheezy]Hi, the Powerbook in my sig has a GeForce FX Go5200 32MB card in it. Is there anyway to up that to 64MB?[/QUOTE

No there is no way to upgrade video memory.. i cant think of one memory card that you can upgrade for that matter..
EvilDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 11:30 PM   #4
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
Very few laptops allow GPU/VRAM upgrades; that is a very recent development. I'm afraid you're outta luck.
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2006, 12:06 AM   #5
Counterfit
macrumors 601
 
Counterfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sitting on your shoulder
Well, you could possibly swap in the logic board from a 1.33GHz or 1.5GHz 12" (which would also give you the faster processor). When my PB's VRAM was semi-b0rked last year, I found a company that upgrades aluminum PowerBooks. I'm trying to find the site now, I'll post it if I do.
__________________
"People shouldn't use word processors as web development tools. It's like using a domestic cat to spread butter on your toast." -ad
Counterfit is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 HD upgrade zackkmac PowerPC Macs 4 Feb 15, 2013 09:22 PM
WD Internal 3.5-inch Caviar Green HDDs - 32MB cache vs 64MB cache ToTo Man Buying Tips and Advice 3 Sep 14, 2012 12:39 PM
Can't Upgrade RAM (PowerBook G4) Goftrey PowerPC Macs 12 Jul 21, 2012 12:11 AM
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 64mb games? Orange Furball PowerPC Macs 28 Jun 17, 2012 11:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC