Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gammamonk

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 4, 2004
Madison, WI
I'm going home for my sister's wedding this May, and on the way I'm stopping in Hawaii for a few days to check out the Universities. Currently I have a Sony V1 and I love it, but I want something higher end for these events.

I've read tons of posts on here about the Canon and Nikon dSLR's, but I've never used SLR before. Also, for the wedding I'll be "in the wedding" whatever that means, so I don't think I can have a honking camera slung around my neck.

For everyday use, I really want an ultra compact pocket camera too. Something that I can always have in my pocket.

So, I guess I want to know:
1) Everybody's favorite dSLR camera (Let's say around $1000)
2) Everybody's favorite Ultra compact camera (lowish budget)

I have a few gigs of Memory Stick Duo's, but no lens or whatever to keep me with one brand.

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004
For compact, I like Panasonic because they all have optical stabilization and they use SD (although Compact Flash would be better, for a cheap 8GB Microdrive).
But I don't like the noise level.

I don't like Sony because they are too automatic and use Memory Stick.
I don't like Olympus and Fujifilm because they use xD.

In the end, after looking at a lot of compact cameras, optimization tens to lead to Canon. There's no ideal compact.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
On top of Nikon and Canon, I'd also take a look at Olympus or even Pentax. The e330 or e500 from Olympus in particular. There's one guy who I'm sure can offer you some Pentax suggestions. ;)