Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

flamingclaptrap

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 14, 2015
Hi,

I've been trolling through the documentation the best I can however, I've been unable to find information regarding the question I have. Unfortunately, I have no real background with OSX, aside from minor support for friends and coworkers.

Situation, I have an OSX Server in an AD environment and would like to implement MDM to manage iOS devices. My question is if implement OD, which is required for MDM, then how would it respond to the fact the server is already connected to AD? I would prefer not to have OD at all associated with AD for security reasons.

Does OD automatically replicate, or does it act as it's own entity and ignore AD unless told otherwise?

I unfortunately don't have a test machine to mess with or I'd play with it more.

Hoping some wise OSX folks can help me out with this.

Yebubbleman

macrumors 603
May 20, 2010
Los Angeles, CA
Hi,

I've been trolling through the documentation the best I can however, I've been unable to find information regarding the question I have. Unfortunately, I have no real background with OSX, aside from minor support for friends and coworkers.

Situation, I have an OSX Server in an AD environment and would like to implement MDM to manage iOS devices. My question is if implement OD, which is required for MDM, then how would it respond to the fact the server is already connected to AD? I would prefer not to have OD at all associated with AD for security reasons.

Does OD automatically replicate, or does it act as it's own entity and ignore AD unless told otherwise?

I unfortunately don't have a test machine to mess with or I'd play with it more.