Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

redhatcode29

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 21, 2014
Kuala Lumpur
Guys i just obtained this 21.5" iMac and i have been trying to rid the stains with a damp cloth, even tried some of the solution wihich is used to clean the LCD... But its stubborn.... Looks like water based paint but its not i guess... Thought of using thinner but wasnt sure.... Its like ingrown, cant even scratch it off ! Any bright ideas ?

Wth

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    765.3 KB · Views: 151
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 102
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    788.7 KB · Views: 86
Last edited:

redheeler

macrumors G3
Oct 17, 2014
Colorado, USA
Wow. Looks like whatever splashed onto it may have eaten away at the aluminum coating. If so you'll never be able to get those spots out.

I'm no expert but this is definitely a possibility.

redhatcode29

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 21, 2014
Kuala Lumpur
Wow. Looks like whatever splashed onto it may have eaten away at the aluminum coating. If so you'll never be able to get those spots out.

I'm no expert but this is definitely a possibility.

Hi, that was what i was afraid of, that it coating was eaten... Suprisingly, whatever spalshed on it, did not eat up the lcd glass coating....its not visible on the lcd until a very close look is given....i guess the owner quickly wiped of the glass as soon as it was splashed....

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Any ideas of what it could be?

I never saw anything like that.

slickwrapsinc

macrumors 6502
Jul 18, 2014
Andover, USA