Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 3, 2006, 10:40 AM   #1
jadekitty24
macrumors 65816
 
jadekitty24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The poor section of Connecticut
Why can't Panther be installed on my Powerbook?

Ok, here's the scenario. I have an iBook G3 that I just installed Panther on. No problems. Then I was trying to re-install Tiger on my Powerbook. I erased the hard drive and THEN I remembered that the Tiger install DVD I have is horribly scratched. I attempted to buff it out, it's too far gone. I get errors when trying to install. So then I figured I have the Panther cd's, I could always install that on the Powerbook and just go back to using Jaguar on my iBook. I just added ram to it so I would be content. But I get the "circle with a slash" thing when trying to install Panther on my Powerbook. From what I've read, you can't go from Tiger to Panther. Well here's the problem I have with that. When I first received the Powerbook it had Panther running on it. That is what I was told I would receive. It came with Tiger DVD's, which I assumed was an un-intended bonus, so I then installed Tiger. If I had this OS on the Powerbook before, why can't I install it? Also, could anyone give me any suggestions other than replace my scratched cd's? If I don't find a fix I will call Apple tonight, but I would like to see if there is anything else I didn't try.
__________________
...sneakin' up like celery, yeah I'm stalkin'...
jadekitty24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 10:47 AM   #2
thequicksilver
macrumors 6502a
 
thequicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham
Send a message via Skype™ to thequicksilver
It isn't possible due to hardware locks put into new models by Apple. The OS it shipped with is the lowest you can install.

You'll need to call Apple to request a new DVD.
__________________
Early 2011 MBP with Hi Res & 8 GB
"Poetry is a way for bad authors to get their work published" © Me, 1999.
Photos
thequicksilver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 10:50 AM   #3
yippy
macrumors 68020
 
yippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oak Park, IL
Send a message via AIM to yippy
You should be able to install Panther on it. Try formating the drive and then installing (backup of course).

If that doesn't work I can think of a few other problems that might cause this.

1. Are you using disks intended for the iBook? This won't always work.

2. If they are strictly Panther CDs, as in, not restore CDs that came with a machine, then your disks might be upgrade disks and not fresh install disks. The only difference being that upgrades disks require an Apple OS to be present on the drive before it will let you install (but still lets you do an erase and install so it has the full installer, just crippled a little). If this is the case you need to install something first, you might try just copying and existing system over using target disk or try to put Jaguar on it (this might not work).

Don't you have the restore disks that came with your powerbook? They should work for installing Panther (I am assuming that you got a Panther system with an extra set of Tiger disks to upgrade to because you bought the computer around the time that Tiger was released).
yippy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 01:09 PM   #4
jadekitty24
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
jadekitty24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The poor section of Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by thequicksilver
It isn't possible due to hardware locks put into new models by Apple. The OS it shipped with is the lowest you can install.
It shipped with Tiger cds but had Panther installed when I received it. So how could be that there are hardware locks if Panther has been previously run on this computer?
__________________
...sneakin' up like celery, yeah I'm stalkin'...
jadekitty24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 01:14 PM   #5
eva01
macrumors 601
 
eva01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gah! Plymouth
Send a message via AIM to eva01 Send a message via MSN to eva01 Send a message via Yahoo to eva01
your trying to install a lower OS than what is allowed

use the CDs that came with the powerbook (system disks) then it would work

you can't install 10.3.0 on a machine that came shipped with say 10.3.3
__________________
If I go on a crazy non-sensical rant, it's the painkillers talking. If however I make perfect sense I take full credit.
eva01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 01:31 PM   #6
thequicksilver
macrumors 6502a
 
thequicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham
Send a message via Skype™ to thequicksilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadekitty24
It shipped with Tiger cds but had Panther installed when I received it. So how could be that there are hardware locks if Panther has been previously run on this computer?
Apologies, my mistake, didn't read properly.
__________________
Early 2011 MBP with Hi Res & 8 GB
"Poetry is a way for bad authors to get their work published" © Me, 1999.
Photos
thequicksilver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 01:36 PM   #7
jadekitty24
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
jadekitty24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The poor section of Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by eva01
your trying to install a lower OS than what is allowed

use the CDs that came with the powerbook (system disks) then it would work

you can't install 10.3.0 on a machine that came shipped with say 10.3.3
I see, it had 10.3.9, I'm trying to install 10.3.
Also, the restore cd's (Tiger) are scratched and the install fails every time. I know I can call Apple and maybe get a replacement set but I was hoping there was something else I can try.
__________________
...sneakin' up like celery, yeah I'm stalkin'...
jadekitty24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 01:40 PM   #8
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadekitty24
I see, it had 10.3.9, I'm trying to install 10.3.
Also, the restore cd's (Tiger) are scratched and the install fails every time. I know I can call Apple and maybe get a replacement set but I was hoping there was something else I can try.
Just call Apple and get it over with.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 02:08 PM   #9
jadekitty24
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
jadekitty24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The poor section of Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian
Just call Apple and get it over with.
Mmm, yeah...I called and requested another set of install DVD's and the lady put me on hold...2 seconds later dial tone...oh crap

UPDATE:Called Apple a 2nd time, discs are on their way. They're backordered to the 23rd, so I'll be waiting a while.

If people are supposed to learn from their mistakes, why haven't I learned a thing?!?
__________________
...sneakin' up like celery, yeah I'm stalkin'...

Last edited by jadekitty24; Mar 3, 2006 at 02:22 PM.
jadekitty24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 02:36 PM   #10
funkychunkz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Send a message via MSN to funkychunkz
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadekitty24
If people are supposed to learn from their mistakes, why haven't I learned a thing?!?
Your supposed to make an effort to learn from your mistakes. The learning does not come automatically. It could be the case that you don't understand what your mistake was (though you think you've made one), and so you haver not yet learned anything about the problem.
funkychunkz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2006, 04:24 PM   #11
jadekitty24
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
jadekitty24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The poor section of Connecticut
Sorry to bring up an old topic but this is really bugging me. I get that there are "hardware locks"or whatever keeping my Powerbook from installing Panther. Read the first post in this thread to understand my situation. I received the Powerbook with Panther running on it, no DVDs-the DVDs that came with my system were Tiger. Now keep in mind, I ordered a Powerbook with Panther. I was told I was going to receive a Powerbook with Panther. Yet I got one running Panther but with Tiger DVDs. My fault that I didn't "archive and install" when I installed Tiger for the first time. My fault that my Tiger DVDs are scratched (though I don't know how). But explain to me why I can't put the OS of my choice on the computer I spent a nice chunk on? Also explain how my computer HAD Panther on it at one point. When I received it it was running 10.3.9. Now I understand I am trying to install 10.3, not 10.3.9. But how did Panther get installed in the first place if it is supposedly impossible? Did the previous owner install 10.3.9? Is THAT even possible? I'm just assuming you can only install 10.3 then update your software.
I apologize for the long-winded questions, but this is really bugging me. I'm not trying to be a whiny b*tch but I just don't understand this. ANY enlightenment would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
...sneakin' up like celery, yeah I'm stalkin'...
jadekitty24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2006, 04:27 PM   #12
eva01
macrumors 601
 
eva01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gah! Plymouth
Send a message via AIM to eva01 Send a message via MSN to eva01 Send a message via Yahoo to eva01
Your System restore disks should have Panther, and you should have gotten separate disks for Tiger

Assuming you bought it from apple
__________________
If I go on a crazy non-sensical rant, it's the painkillers talking. If however I make perfect sense I take full credit.
eva01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2006, 04:28 PM   #13
Applespider
macrumors 603
 
Applespider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
Your PB probably shipped with 10.3.x on it - choose your number. The restore disk would have had the same 10.3.x on it. Software updates would take it to 10.3.9

You are trying to install 10.3.0 on it - it's a lower version that what it shipped with therefore it won't install.
__________________
Oops.... the cat killed the rabbit
Applespider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2006, 05:08 PM   #14
TLRedhawke
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
If you happen to have an Apple Authorized Service Provider (that is, not an Apple Store) nearby, you could ask them to download you a copy of the restore discs via GSX. They'd probably charge you a nominal fee, plus the cost of the CDs, but it would sure beat waiting until the 23rd.

All Apple service providers have access to Apple GSX, which allows them to obtain Restore Discs, Hardware Test Discs, Service Diagnostic Discs, and Service Manuals, as well as allowing them to look up warranty status and other such fun things for ANY Apple machine (iPods included).
__________________
G4: Mac mini 1.25GHz; PB 12" 867MHz; PM Cube 450MHz;
G3: PB Pismo 400MHz x2; PM Beige 266MHz
TLRedhawke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2006, 05:51 PM   #15
jadekitty24
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
jadekitty24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The poor section of Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by eva01
Your System restore disks should have Panther, and you should have gotten separate disks for Tiger

Assuming you bought it from apple
The only discs that came with the system were Tiger discs. The copy of Panther that I have I bought for a different computer but later decided I wanted Panther on my main system. And after discovering that my Tiger discs were too scratched I thought this would work. And yes, this was purchased from Apple.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLRedhawke
If you happen to have an Apple Authorized Service Provider (that is, not an Apple Store) nearby, you could ask them to download you a copy of the restore discs via GSX. They'd probably charge you a nominal fee, plus the cost of the CDs, but it would sure beat waiting until the 23rd.

All Apple service providers have access to Apple GSX, which allows them to obtain Restore Discs, Hardware Test Discs, Service Diagnostic Discs, and Service Manuals, as well as allowing them to look up warranty status and other such fun things for ANY Apple machine (iPods included).
Wow, I did not know that. I will have to check that out. Thank you.

I just basically want to know the reasoning behind forcing one OS upon someone. Why it's necessary. It just doesn't make any sense that I can't put an OS on my computer when it is perfectly capable of handling it. Just wondering why is all...
__________________
...sneakin' up like celery, yeah I'm stalkin'...
jadekitty24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't I block someone on my AIM or .Mac list? bluedoggiant OS X 4 Jun 8, 2008 01:18 PM
just got my new 1gb ram...installed on my powerbook... Jdm_rsx Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 0 Jan 14, 2005 04:42 AM
Can panther be INSTALLED on a pc freak-on-aleash Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion 24 Oct 30, 2003 03:36 PM
When will Panther be standard on new PowerBooks? aswitcher Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 2 Oct 26, 2003 08:00 AM
ARGH! why can't I pay DIVX on my 266 iMAC? chitania Mac Help/Tips 10 Oct 7, 2002 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC