Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 4, 2006, 07:35 PM   #1
iHateWindows
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2005
Putting An Intel Core Solo in a G4 Mac Mini

Is it possible to do this with extreme modification? What about an Intel Core Duo?
iHateWindows is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2006, 07:35 PM   #2
Steve1496
macrumors 6502a
 
Steve1496's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by iHateWindows
Is it possible to do this with extreme modification? What about an Intel Core Duo?


You'd have to replace the motherboard, too...
__________________
11.6" Air | 13" MBP | 2011 15" MBP|27" iMac
5.1 Surround Sound|Airport Extreme N
32 GB iPhone 4
Steve1496 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2006, 07:57 PM   #3
mikemodena
macrumors 6502a
 
mikemodena's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Connecticut
Send a message via AIM to mikemodena
I suppose if you could find the motherboard and then buy a processor on NewEgg or something and rebuilt it... but then you'd have to get a copy of OS X intel legally somehow.. you could possibly make it fit. But, the price tag would end up being close to a new mini probably.. a 1.67GHz Core Solo is $250 on NewEgg I think, and not sure how much that motherboard would cost.

Not to mention the possibility of really really screwing up everything..

Oh and I do believe the new mini has a SATA connection for the HDD, so you'd have to find a SATA laptop HDD, and the new minis have different AE and BT antenas.

So I guess.. it's impossible. The Core processor WILL NOT fit into the old motherboard.

Edit: If you really wanna mod and it don't care about your warranty, overclock the old mini, put in a faster HDD.. things like that.
mikemodena is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2006, 09:23 PM   #4
plinkoman
macrumors 65816
 
plinkoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York
yea seriously, in the end this would cost you as much as just getting a new mini. you'd basically need all the parts from a new mini, and put them in the old mini's case, and then you'd run into problems with the new ports on the back etc...

really, if you want a core solo mini, save up for one
__________________
15" MacBook Pro | 2.66 GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | HiRes Anti-Glare
2nd Gen iPod touch 16GB
iPad 2 WiFi 32GB - on order
plinkoman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2006, 02:21 AM   #5
Shamus
macrumors 6502a
 
Shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Send a message via MSN to Shamus
why would u wanna do this anyway....theres nothin wrong with 1.42 ghz mac mini
Shamus is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the max HD size possible in a mid-2010 Mac Mini? alexreich Mac mini 8 Jun 19, 2011 08:42 AM
Is the Intel core 2 duo even going to stay in date that long? cootersgarage6 iMac 3 Nov 29, 2010 05:28 AM
Imac intel core 2 duo or mac mini intel core 2 duo? cootersgarage6 iMac 1 Nov 27, 2010 07:35 PM
Can I put an intel core duo 2 processor on my iBook g4 Richard0227 PowerPC Macs 3 Oct 21, 2010 01:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC