Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2002, 06:23 AM   #1
Beej
macrumors 68020
 
Beej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Buffy's bedroom
Send a message via ICQ to Beej
Thumbs up ZOOM!

The mouse speed in OS X has annoyed me ever since I got my 19 incher. It was way too slow.

I just downloaded a Turbo Mouse thing and it rocks ! http://www.versiontracker.com/morein...d=12198&db=mac

Now all I need is something like PS2rate (I think that's what it's called) for Windoze; it increases the framerate of your mouse making it look smoother. Any one know of one?
__________________
Hardcore newborn. (Thanks to mcrain for the idea)
"You're a lot smarter than you look. Of course, you look like a retard..."

Last edited by Beej; Feb 2, 2002 at 06:29 AM.
Beej is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2002, 08:16 AM   #2
mac15
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney
it gets anoying sometimes
mac15 is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2002, 12:26 PM   #3
eyelikeart
Moderator emeritus
 
eyelikeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metairie, LA
Arrow precise movements...

I'll go with the advice of the guy's response on graphic artists having trouble with precise pixel movements while using it....

thanks but no thanks...
eyelikeart is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2002, 12:58 PM   #4
Kela
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: US
Red face

Are u all aware of the fact that u are freaks? Talkin about mouse speed. WHAT HAS THIS FORUM COME TO??
Kela is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2002, 01:18 PM   #5
eyelikeart
Moderator emeritus
 
eyelikeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metairie, LA
Exclamation oh no!!!

sorry.....

I must still be in shock from the PDA discussions coming back in Hardware Rumors!!!
eyelikeart is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2002, 02:30 PM   #6
whfsdude
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington DC USA
Send a message via AIM to whfsdude Send a message via Skype™ to whfsdude
I never have a problem with mouse speed in x
whfsdude is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2002, 02:41 PM   #7
Hemingray
macrumors 68030
 
Hemingray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ha ha haaa!
The only problem I have with mouse speed in X is 1) the login screen, and 2) after I quit Quake3. The damn thing resets my mouse speed back to like the second notch. It's awful. I mean it just makes sense, the more real estate we have with bigger and bigger screens and resolutions, WHY are we still using practically a 1:2 ratio for default?

And now, to branch off the topic, I have a problem with the optical mouse in programs like Photoshop. What if I want to add airbrush to a picture in a totally erratic, non-professional manner? (i.e. running your mouse back and forth REALLY fast) It don't work! Oh well. I never do that anyway, so it's not that big of a deal...
Hemingray is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2002, 05:05 PM   #8
Beej
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Beej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Buffy's bedroom
Send a message via ICQ to Beej
I have the same problems with Quake and at the login screen. I accept that it's a bug in Quake, but it is possible to make the mouse faster at the login screen?

BTW, I slow the mouse down for graphic work... I'm not crazy
__________________
Hardcore newborn. (Thanks to mcrain for the idea)
"You're a lot smarter than you look. Of course, you look like a retard..."
Beej is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2002, 06:46 AM   #9
Kela
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: US
skizzos
Kela is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2002, 04:55 PM   #10
mac15
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney
what would you rather talk about
mac15 is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2002, 06:06 PM   #11
britboy
macrumors 68030
 
britboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kent, UK
the weather
britboy is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2002, 10:46 PM   #12
me hate windows
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
a
__________________
"You are coming to a sad realization, cancel or allow?"
me hate windows is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2002, 11:17 PM   #13
dnelsongb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
Send a message via Yahoo to dnelsongb
If the mouse is in your arse...

Ive heard of gerbals and hamsters but not computer mice in your arse. Im sure that would effect your mouse speed. Pull the mouse out of your bottom and nobody gets hurt. The mouse is properly used in hand and the speed is variable. I agree, this is a dumb thread to post!
__________________
DNelsonGB
dnelsongb is offline   0
Old Feb 4, 2002, 04:25 AM   #14
Kela
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: US
U people are so rtarded man! I mean, Macrumors used to be hosting ground for cool personalities with cool topics. After John123 SPikey and the gang left...all that Im left with is you..speaking about how your imac got stuck in thailand and how the mouse speed is slow. SO Fndumb!
Kela is offline   0
Old Feb 4, 2002, 05:47 AM   #15
Beej
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Beej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Buffy's bedroom
Send a message via ICQ to Beej
To all those who have been upset by this thread:

Sorry. This thread is in the general discussion section, and it is computer-related... in fact it is Mac OS X related.

If you have no problems with your mouse speed, move on. If you - as I do - thought the maximum mouse speed in OS X is too slow, then you'd have found this thread informative.

Get over it, people. Just because this thread doesn't excite you doesn't mean others don't find the information in it useful.
__________________
Hardcore newborn. (Thanks to mcrain for the idea)
"You're a lot smarter than you look. Of course, you look like a retard..."
Beej is offline   0
Old Feb 4, 2002, 06:38 AM   #16
MaxRool
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lives in Melbourne, works in Sydney
Thumbs up

Actually I have a 21" monitor and I think the tracking speed is a problem as well.

Beause i share a monitor, keyboard and mouse between 3 computers, the mouse speed (on MacOSX only) resets to default when I switch between computers.

I think its a problem.

Thanks for the info Beej.
__________________
If you learn by your mistakes, how come I don't know everything by now?
MaxRool is offline   0
Old Feb 4, 2002, 06:39 AM   #17
MaxRool
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lives in Melbourne, works in Sydney
PS

RU really from the home of AFL?
__________________
If you learn by your mistakes, how come I don't know everything by now?
MaxRool is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC