Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2003, 02:50 PM   #1
k2k koos
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere between yesterday and tomorrow
Question new powermac architecture

Hey all out there, perhaps someone can enlighten me with this:
If Apple is (very secretly) concerned about the performance of their Powermacs (which I think are gorgeous regardless of the fact that they are a little slower than top spec PC's, and on average they just work very well, but hey it's a Mac isn't it!) Why not put the Power4 processor in it instead of developing a spin off called 970.... I mean isn't that CPU allready out there, or would it not work that well, i'm a bit confused, don't know that much about CPU's but I am curious, so is there anyone who can tell me that I am
A: an idiot and should not have come up with this stupid question, or
B: a genius who should be employed by Apple as a 'bright idea man'....
C: think too different....
__________________
The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources.
k2k koos is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 03:11 PM   #2
FelixDerKater
macrumors 65832
 
FelixDerKater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Put a Power4 into a consumer desktop system? I don't think you have any idea of the price of a Power4 chip. The pricing would be outrageous. Maybe for a high-end workstation, but not a normal desktop...
FelixDerKater is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 03:11 PM   #3
Telomar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
This has been gone over about a thousand times but suffice to say the POWER4 is too costly. Unless you want to pay $50 000 for your next powermac you don't want it using a POWER4.
Telomar is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 03:21 PM   #4
FelixDerKater
macrumors 65832
 
FelixDerKater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Take a look there for some basic pricing. Of course an Apple desktop would have less RAM and HD size, but the price is still too high.

http://www-1.ibm.com/servers/eserver.../workstations/
FelixDerKater is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 03:29 PM   #5
pgwalsh
macrumors 68000
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to pgwalsh
Price is no object. I'm ready to put my ski mask on and run out of the store with it.
pgwalsh is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 03:34 PM   #6
strider42
macrumors 65816
 
strider42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
aside from pricing, the power4 is very power hungry and very large. It is not suitable in any way for a desktop application. If the power4 was a suitable desktop chip, IBM would have just used that for its products instead of developing the 970 (remember, its IBM thats making the 970, not apple. Apple has nothing to do with the chip design)
strider42 is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 03:44 PM   #7
Fender2112
macrumors 6502a
 
Fender2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Send a message via AIM to Fender2112
Think of it as buying an 18 wheeler when all you need is a pick up.
__________________
Really? Really, really!
Fender2112 is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 04:25 PM   #8
FelixDerKater
macrumors 65832
 
FelixDerKater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by Fender2112
Think of it as buying an 18 wheeler when all you need is a pick up.
Think of it as buying a cargo jet when all you need is a minivan.
FelixDerKater is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 05:06 PM   #9
Dont Hurt Me
macrumors 603
 
Dont Hurt Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Yahooville S.C.
Quote:
Originally posted by strider42
aside from pricing, the power4 is very power hungry and very large. It is not suitable in any way for a desktop application. If the power4 was a suitable desktop chip, IBM would have just used that for its products instead of developing the 970 (remember, its IBM thats making the 970, not apple. Apple has nothing to do with the chip design)
Dont be so sure it is using the same instruction set as altivec 162
Dont Hurt Me is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 05:50 PM   #10
strider42
macrumors 65816
 
strider42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by Dont Hurt Me
Dont be so sure it is using the same instruction set as altivec 162
apple didn't invent altivec either. Its possible they may have had some input into IBM including the vector processing unit, but they still have nothing to do with the design of the chip. Apple doesn't know anything about it, and apple is not the reason this chip is going to exist (IBM itself will be a major user of it)
strider42 is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 06:14 PM   #11
Vector
macrumors 6502a
 
Vector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by FelixDerKater
Take a look there for some basic pricing. Of course an Apple desktop would have less RAM and HD size, but the price is still too high.

http://www-1.ibm.com/servers/eserver.../workstations/
On this page there is a computer RS/6000 43P Model 150. Can anyone tell me why this thing is soo expensive when it is using a 604e powerpc processor? Did i miss a certain feature or is this computer just a really expensive box using a processor that was used back in the ANS 700 and from the PowerMac 7600 through 9600?
Vector is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 07:27 PM   #12
MacCoaster
macrumors 6502a
 
MacCoaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Washington, DC / Rochester, NY / Lexington, NC
Send a message via AIM to MacCoaster
Quote:
Originally posted by Vector
On this page there is a computer RS/6000 43P Model 150. Can anyone tell me why this thing is soo expensive when it is using a 604e powerpc processor? Did i miss a certain feature or is this computer just a really expensive box using a processor that was used back in the ANS 700 and from the PowerMac 7600 through 9600?
They have onboard L2 of 1 MB! Plus, they run AIX, not Linux.

I think this is the very reason that IBM is developing the 970, 980, and 990--their workstations are getting old and expensive: no one's buying it, I'd guess.
__________________
The Mac Coaster
Quad Core Q6600 PC, 23" Apple Cinema HD LCD, White MacBook C2D 2.16 GHz, Athlon64 PC, AthlonXP PC, iPod photo 60 GB
MacCoaster is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 07:43 PM   #13
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally posted by Vector


On this page there is a computer RS/6000 43P Model 150. Can anyone tell me why this thing is soo expensive when it is using a 604e powerpc processor? Did i miss a certain feature or is this computer just a really expensive box using a processor that was used back in the ANS 700 and from the PowerMac 7600 through 9600?
This machine is pre-configured with the operating system and unlimited licenses. The ready-to-go models are more expensive.

There is also the matter of the graphics hardware which, while entry level, would probably be over $800 otherwise.

Serial Storage Architecture is included in the basic design of the machine.

IBM's always excellent hardware diagnostics are included, complete with front panel status lights. The Wintel PCs from IBM do not get anything like this and would cost much more if they had them.

Btw, what's an ANS 700? (looks like a silly question to me)
bousozoku is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 07:55 PM   #14
rainman::|:|
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: iowa
Send a message via Yahoo to rainman::|:|
Quote:
RS/6000 44P Model 270_
from $47,697.00
IBM Web price*
Monitor not included
You, know, for a $48 thousand computer, they could at least throw in the monitor


pnw
rainman::|:| is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 08:17 PM   #15
Fender2112
macrumors 6502a
 
Fender2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Send a message via AIM to Fender2112
IMB Intellastation?

One question. At these insane prices, who uses this type of computer. The ad mentions 3D, CAD, and visualization. What can they do that a high end Mac can't do. I can't imagine spending that much for something that becomes obsolete in two or three years.
__________________
Really? Really, really!
Fender2112 is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 09:10 PM   #16
MrMacMan
macrumors 601
 
MrMacMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 1 Block away from NYC.
Send a message via AIM to MrMacMan
Quote:
Originally posted by pgwalsh
Price is no object. I'm ready to put my ski mask on and run out of the store with it.
With that kind of price that is the only way the Power4 is gonna make it off the shelves.

The Power4 is a very power hungry chip, it is needy and we don't like chips to be needy.

If we wanted we could use them on some Uber-High class xServe but not likely at all.
__________________
There is a little Steve in all of us!
-->Folding is Fighting Against Disease and help MacRumors. Join Today!<--
Props to --> Shadowfax For Making My Avatar!
IM Me On AIM Already!
MrMacMan is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 09:30 PM   #17
holmesf
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Quote:
Originally posted by paulwhannel


You, know, for a $48 thousand computer, they could at least throw in the monitor


pnw
lol! lauging my arse off!

Those do seem quite expensive

I'd rather have 3 of these:
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPL...G/2.7.0.3.27.1

mmm....dual 23" displays...
holmesf is offline   0
Old Jan 27, 2003, 10:37 PM   #18
Vector
macrumors 6502a
 
Vector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by bousozoku


This machine is pre-configured with the operating system and unlimited licenses. The ready-to-go models are more expensive.

There is also the matter of the graphics hardware which, while entry level, would probably be over $800 otherwise.

Serial Storage Architecture is included in the basic design of the machine.

IBM's always excellent hardware diagnostics are included, complete with front panel status lights. The Wintel PCs from IBM do not get anything like this and would cost much more if they had them.

Btw, what's an ANS 700? (looks like a silly question to me)
Ok thanks now it makes more sense.

The ANS 700 is the Apple Network Server 700. It was released bay Apple in Feb. 1996 and discontinued in April 1997. It used AIX running on a 604e powerpc with 1MB of L2 cache ,512 MB of ram max, everything was hot swappable ie. power supplies, fans, drives. It had 7 drive bays on the front and I think you could put more inside but they were less accessible. It started at around 15k and was based on the ANS 500.
Attached Images
 
Vector is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Architecture software for MBP? Iphone4sinwhite Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Mar 20, 2013 08:22 PM
Apple vs. Samsung through architecture? ClassicMacAttak Community Discussion 0 Dec 13, 2012 01:23 AM
Mobile application architecture uba2012 iPhone/iPad Programming 10 Nov 20, 2012 06:05 AM
Architecture apps for kids Cujo72 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Oct 18, 2012 07:57 PM
Resolved: Architecture for data management phr0ze iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Aug 1, 2012 11:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC