Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jeffball610

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 3, 2015
I am a teacher and I'm pretty decent with Microsoft products. I never understood why the Mac version was so different from the Windows version, but now I'm completely lost.

I created a document to teach specific skills to students and there seems to be an issue. On my computer, which happens to have the same disk image as the students, I have the option of creating a document at an Index card size. The students do not have this option for some reason leaving them unable to create the document without working around the interface and creating a "custom" paper size. What is the issue here?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bzc29VlTIXhUVmpaaDRaR0hIMnc/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bzc29VlTIXhUbm9zWUJ6T1hmNmc/view?usp=sharing

campyguy

macrumors 68040
Mar 21, 2014
Simple to explain - you and your students are not connected to the same printer OR the same printer paper cartridge OR the same custom Print Setup settings, the latter of which are not embedded in a document unless it's a Template.

I have 3 printers - a desktop laser, a desktop MFP, and an office laser - the settings for each are independent and I have to either connect to one or use the Print Setup dialog to "create" my custom documents when I want one.

I'll create a document from a custom Template when I want document settings to carry from myself to another person. QED.

jeffball610

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 3, 2015
That might explain it, except we are all connected to the same printer.

I believe I may be connected to other printers on the network, but I'm not sure how those would effect my settings when I don't print to them.