Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:39 PM   #1
dannnyh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Can I delete Garageband?

Starting to worry about how much HD space I have (30GB). I heard Garageband is massive and as I never use it I would like to remove it. Is it possible?

Thanks
Dan
__________________
 2.26 GHz Mac Book Pro 13", 16gb iPhone 4, 30gb 5th Gen Ipod Video 
dannnyh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:41 PM   #2
Jaffa Cake
macrumors Core
 
Jaffa Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The City of Culture, Englandshire
You can remove it (and its loops) without any problems if you decide you want to use it in the future, you can just reinstall it from your disks. Easy as that and twice as simple.
__________________
How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul, leave me my name!
Jaffa Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:46 PM   #3
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Yeah, it won't hurt you.

How much does GarageBand take up, with it's loops?
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:48 PM   #4
UnitedRed
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
what does Garageband actually do?
I've never used it
UnitedRed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:49 PM   #5
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
It is massive.
Delete garageband app
Library/Application Support/Garageband/
Library/Audio/Apple Loops/

Technically it isn't garageband, its the loops, and software insturments.
jared_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:49 PM   #6
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnitedRed
what does Garageband actually do?
I've never used it
LOL, afraid to try? Think that the guitar will pop off the dock and smack you?
jared_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:51 PM   #7
Jaffa Cake
macrumors Core
 
Jaffa Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The City of Culture, Englandshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstewart92
How much does GarageBand take up, with it's loops?
A very quick and unscientific tot up of the Garageband stuff on my Mac... looks to be about 3GB worth of app, loops and files on there!

It's times like this I'm glad that I've got a 160GB hard drive...
__________________
How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul, leave me my name!
Jaffa Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:52 PM   #8
dannnyh
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Great, Thanks a lot. Thought it would be more complicated than that. I'm sure I read somewhere that its possible to also remove Languages as well, any tips?
__________________
 2.26 GHz Mac Book Pro 13", 16gb iPhone 4, 30gb 5th Gen Ipod Video 
dannnyh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:53 PM   #9
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannnyh
Great, Thanks a lot. Thought it would be more complicated than that. I'm sure I read somewhere that its possible to also remove Languages as well, any tips?
As in translations or ... fonts or what are you looking for?
jared_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:56 PM   #10
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannnyh
Great, Thanks a lot. Thought it would be more complicated than that. I'm sure I read somewhere that its possible to also remove Languages as well, any tips?
Yeah. All you have to do is get this DeLocalizer application. Free, too.

EDIT: Download it here
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 05:59 PM   #11
Jaffa Cake
macrumors Core
 
Jaffa Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The City of Culture, Englandshire
Languages as in Localisations? There's an app here that'll clear off any languages you don't want on your Mac.

EDIT: lilstewart92 appears to be a little quicker than me with his links. A word of warning though – it doesn't appear to be tested for use on OS X higher than 10.3. I have used it on Panther and Tiger myself without any difficulties, though.
__________________
How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul, leave me my name!
Jaffa Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 06:09 PM   #12
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Quote:

EDIT: ....A word of warning though it doesn't appear to be tested for use on OS X higher than 10.3. I have used it on Panther and Tiger myself without any difficulties, though.
Same here, no problems what so ever in both of them (10.3 and 10.4)
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 06:09 PM   #13
dannnyh
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Thanks again.
__________________
 2.26 GHz Mac Book Pro 13", 16gb iPhone 4, 30gb 5th Gen Ipod Video 
dannnyh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 06:15 PM   #14
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
How much space does it clear up to run the delocalizer? And can you keep some languages if you want?
jared_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 06:20 PM   #15
Jaffa Cake
macrumors Core
 
Jaffa Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The City of Culture, Englandshire
You can choose exactly which languages you leave and which are deleted. On the machines I've run it on it usually clears off the best part of a Gigabyte.
__________________
How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul, leave me my name!
Jaffa Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 06:20 PM   #16
KD7IWP
macrumors 6502a
 
KD7IWP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: American living in Canada
Send a message via AIM to KD7IWP
You can keep any language you want. It cleared 2 gigs :O on my Macbook Pro and on some computers it only does 20 megs, you never know.
__________________
2.66Ghz Quad Nehalem Mac Pro; 16gb iPhone 4; 30GB 5G iPod; 512mb iPod Shuffle.
KD7IWP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 07:25 PM   #17
cycocelica
macrumors 68000
 
cycocelica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Send a message via AIM to cycocelica
Glad I got rid of that and iDVD and iMovie. All three takes up a lot of space.
__________________
Seattle sports = fail
cycocelica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 07:59 PM   #18
t1rider321
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
you still have 30 gigs of space
t1rider321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 09:31 PM   #19
alexstein
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
If you are that concerned about the space on your Book why don't you get an external HDD.

IIRC Garageband with all it's loops frees up about 3.7GB. It's not the app. itself it's the loops that use all the space up.
__________________
MacBook Pro
alexstein is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can You Collaborate With GarageBand? CaptainHighTop Digital Audio 4 Jul 8, 2011 11:02 AM
Any way to filter apps in iTunes that are not installed so you can just delete them? cRuNcHiE Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 7, 2011 03:32 AM
Can you delete greyed out Garageband loops? itzdsd Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 7, 2011 07:19 PM
GarageBand . . Can I Delete Safely lugesm Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Dec 14, 2007 07:28 PM
Deleting Garageband... psychofreak Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Dec 3, 2006 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC