Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2003, 08:33 AM   #1
noelmac75
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
New Powermacs! booting into OS X only.

Can someone explain to me about why the new powermacs will boot into OS X only, what will the difference be, will I never be able to use os 9 on these new systems, Iam thinking of buying one of the new powermacs soon, i use a lot of apps in os 9 at work for graphics etc.. will i have to go out and buy all os x apps to work on my new system?

HELP APPRECIATED.
noelmac75 is offline   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 08:37 AM   #2
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Re: New Powermacs! booting into OS X only.

Quote:
Originally posted by noelmac75
Can someone explain to me about why the new powermacs will boot into OS X only, what will the difference be, will I never be able to use os 9 on these new systems, Iam thinking of buying one of the new powermacs soon, i use a lot of apps in os 9 at work for graphics etc.. will i have to go out and buy all os x apps to work on my new system?
They are still selling the previous dual 1.25GHz if you need OS 9 boot capability.

The new machines still run classic. (If I read correctly.)

However, updating your applications could be worthwhile. This is something only you can decide.

I do know I like Photoshop 7 better than I like Photoshop 6.

Also, some companies have relativly low upgrade charges. It may not be as bad as you think. And you would get the new features.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 09:16 AM   #3
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Red face Re: New Powermacs! booting into OS X only.

Quote:
Originally posted by noelmac75
Can someone explain to me about why the new powermacs will boot into OS X only, what will the difference be, will I never be able to use os 9 on these new systems, Iam thinking of buying one of the new powermacs soon, i use a lot of apps in os 9 at work for graphics etc.. will i have to go out and buy all os x apps to work on my new system?

HELP APPRECIATED.
Two things: (1) You can use MacOS 9 in the Classic environment. Though it won't support everything that MacOS 9 did, it does support most. (2) The new Macs include FireWire 800 which did not exist when MacOS 9 was developed. MacOS 9 was an impediment to the development of the Mac. Let it go. If you can't let it go, continue to use your old machine until your applications are developed for MacOS X. If your old machine needs to be replaced, fear not. Most Macs on the store shelves today can boot into MacOS 9. Buy one of those. This is not rocket science.
MisterMe is online now   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 09:39 AM   #4
noelmac75
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Re: Re: New Powermacs! booting into OS X only.

Quote:
Originally posted by MisterMe
Two things: (1) You can use MacOS 9 in the Classic environment. Though it won't support everything that MacOS 9 did, it does support most. (2) The new Macs include FireWire 800 which did not exist when MacOS 9 was developed. MacOS 9 was an impediment to the development of the Mac. Let it go. If you can't let it go, continue to use your old machine until your applications are developed for MacOS X. If your old machine needs to be replaced, fear not. Most Macs on the store shelves today can boot into MacOS 9. Buy one of those. This is not rocket science.

I just need it to run apps like photoshop/quark/illustrator, will they work on the new macs? what will it not run?
noelmac75 is offline   0
Old Jan 30, 2003, 09:50 AM   #5
dricci
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Re: Re: Re: New Powermacs! booting into OS X only.

Quote:
Originally posted by noelmac75



I just need it to run apps like photoshop/quark/illustrator, will they work on the new macs? what will it not run?
Photoshop and Illustrator have native Mac OS X versions available, you'll probably want to upgrade both of those to the new versions unless you want to run them in the "Classic" environment.

Quark is still MIA, but runs reasonably well in Classic mode. Just be careful if you have any special printer drivers or other drivers/devices that may not be compatible with 10. Expect a native version of Quark, I'd say, within the next six months.
dricci is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So I got 2 G4 PowerMacs alexanderasher PowerPC Macs 22 Mar 17, 2014 04:07 PM
Use of PCMCIA/Airport Slot in PowerMacs G4fanboy PowerPC Macs 7 Feb 7, 2014 10:40 AM
presentation and asking for help to set up some powermacs powermi PowerPC Macs 0 Apr 6, 2013 03:48 PM
Realistically, how valuable are Pre-Steve Jobs PowerMacs ever going to get? MacPig Apple Collectors 1 Dec 14, 2012 12:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC