Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

passingapple

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 7, 2012
Hello, ideally this question is for those who have/had owned various devices like an iphone (or other smartphones), point/shoot, and, mirrorless cameras from recent years (within last 2-3 years). I need to get a camera for upcoming oversea trips and look for some insights on choosing one.

budget: under $800 (the cheaper the better, meaning I'd rather spend $300 if possible)
what for: mainly for taking random photos while traveling. Nothing crazy/fancy, but something good enough (for casual amateur level) to capture scenes. FYI, I do own film cameras that I don't really use anymore like Rollei 35, so I'm not a complete newbie.

Obviously iphone 6 has the small-form factor w/ other benefits like GPS, translators (huge+ for countries like non-EU, non-English countries), etc. and all in all probably the best for traveling if looking for just one device. But I don't need a smartphone (won't use it as a phone unless I travel under specific situations), cost (probably looking at $700 or $800 unlocked), 6s coming in about 4 months (probably can't wait until then though), and most importantly its relatively short life span compare to cameras compel me to look elsewhere.