Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:13 AM   #1
xflare
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
New Mac User: First Time Setup

I'm switching over to Mac in the next few weeks, a Mac Mini. I've never used a Mac before so i'm a little nervous about the whole thing. Can anyone give me a description of what will happen when I switch on my new Mac for the very first time? I'm assuming there's some set up procedure - im particularly interested in how i'll get online for the first time. Is it easy? I'll be using it with a wired connection initially, maybe wireless later.

I already have a router setup which I use with my PC. I did download the users manual for the Mini, and I get the impression that I have to enter all the ISP/Internet detail etc manually? Sounds complex lol

Thanks
xflare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:16 AM   #2
mfacey
macrumors 65816
 
mfacey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Netherlands
Send a message via MSN to mfacey
In theory getting online should be a piece of cake. Definitely easier that it was setting up the connection on your windows box. For the most part it'll just be a matter of plugging in your ethernet cable and you'll be online. That's assuming your connection is not out of the ordinary though. Wireless is just as easy.

If you give us some more specifics on your type of internet connection, maybe we can give you a heads up and save you time.
__________________
iPad 3 32GB WiFi | iPad Mini 16GB | Alu iMac 24" 3.06 GHz | Mac Mini 2.3 i5 | iPhone 4S 16 GB | 2G & 4G Shuffle | Nano 8GB
mfacey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:16 AM   #3
janey
macrumors 603
 
janey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sunny los angeles
lol. If you did it on your Windows PC, you can do it on a Mac.

Setting up the internet connection varies depending on the ISP and your hardware, but come again to ask! (or call your ISP, which would be faster and better..)

But just in advance, if your ISP is SBC/AT&T, their Mac support really sucks balls...(imo)
__________________
iPad | 15" MacBook Pro | black (iPhone 3GS|MacBook) | Mac mini server
moof!

janey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:20 AM   #4
Applespider
macrumors 603
 
Applespider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
When you turn it on, it will play you some music and welcome you to OS X

It will ask you to enter your name - and the short name you want to use for your home folder. If you have a wireless keyboard/mouse, it obviously handles them first.

It will ask you if you want to configure your internet connection. If it's wireless, it comes up with a box to enter the WPA name/password. If it's wired and the log-in details are in the router already (which it sounds like they are), it will just go online. You shouldn't have to enter anything - it usually just autodetects the router in the ethernet port and you're done.

It's a very fast process. You should be up and running (and online) within 5 minutes.
__________________
Oops.... the cat killed the rabbit
Applespider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:26 AM   #5
crazycat
macrumors 65816
 
crazycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Well working with a mac is a little different. For example on a mac you will find less buttons to click on, less options when trying to connect to teh internet, less things when trying to fix your display. The reasons for this is that they are all that you need, while on a windows box you will find 40 buttons and 40 options that you will never use that does the same thing on the mac.

The remote that comes with the intel mac mini has 6 buttons, if it was made by microsoft it would have 12 or 18 and still only do 6 things.

Atleast thats how i see my mac different from a PC, its simple, faster and better to use. It will take some time to get used. When i first started using my mac it would take me ages to get anything done, because i would always overcomplicate it. If you think that what you want to do is import a music cd into your libary the best thing would be to have a button on teh top right corner where on a mac it is. On a windows which i has used to it would be in a drop down menu with 20 options to it.

These are some example that i could think of but there are many more. If you have any problems the best thing to do is to post them here.

Grats on your new mac.
__________________
"I don't take kindly to insults"
"Funny, with a face like yours, I'd have thought you'd be used to it by now."
crazycat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:27 AM   #6
xflare
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I'm in the UK...... my ISP is Plusnet. Router: Netgear DG834G .

So is it a simple case of connecting the router to the mini switching on and the mini will automatically detect all the settings etc? The router is already setup.
xflare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:35 AM   #7
andy89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Folkestone, England
Send a message via Skype™ to andy89
Should be if your using DHCP
andy89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:35 AM   #8
Applespider
macrumors 603
 
Applespider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
Quote:
Originally Posted by xflare
I'm in the UK...... my ISP is Plusnet. Router: Netgear DG834G .

So is it a simple case of connecting the router to the mini switching on and the mini will automatically detect all the settings etc? The router is already setup.
Should just auto detect and go online - particularly since you're going with the wired connection initially.
__________________
Oops.... the cat killed the rabbit
Applespider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 06:44 AM   #9
xflare
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Just looked at server type and it says "PPP"

Looking at the router setup page. Encapsulation: PPPoA (PPP over ATM)
xflare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2006, 08:56 PM   #10
XFce
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Just plug it in and you should be good to go
Unlike windows you will not have to worry about downloading drivers etc etc to set up your Mac. When I first got my Intel i Mac I plugged the cord into the wall then the modem in back of the Mac, surge protector, Then about 5 minutes latter auto detect detected all of my settings, even detected the printer. The whole process took less then 15 minutes. (I had no ida that installing a Mac would be so easy.) Unless Intel i Macs differ from Mac minis you should have no problems what so ever.
__________________
Apple Intel Core Duo

ATI Radeon X1600/256MB VRAM
2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
500GB Serial ATA drive
L2 Cache 2 MB
Bus Speed 667 MHz
XFce is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time mac user Ripcrod MacBook Pro 10 Jan 13, 2014 12:35 AM
First time Mac user m2a1 MacBook Pro 35 Aug 5, 2013 06:14 PM
Best Mac Pro Setup of all time? maclover69 Mac Pro 31 May 16, 2013 03:53 PM
First time Mac user! ClassicRock1169 OS X 0 Aug 14, 2012 10:12 PM
First time Mac user, First time upgrade. Nyy8 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 24 Jul 22, 2012 12:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC