Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2006, 08:56 AM   #1
princealfie
macrumors 68030
 
princealfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salt Lake City UT
Send a message via Yahoo to princealfie
What is the max # of Hard Drive in beige G3?

What is the max number of hard drives that can be installed in a powermac beige g3? I think the rev. A one only gets 1 while the other later versions get up to 4 hard drives? Theoretically I would be sticking in about a 120 or 250 GB Hard drive if I can figure out how to overcome the 128 GB hard drive limit?
princealfie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2006, 09:16 AM   #2
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by princealfie
What is the max number of hard drives that can be installed in a powermac beige g3? I think the rev. A one only gets 1 while the other later versions get up to 4 hard drives? Theoretically I would be sticking in about a 120 or 250 GB Hard drive if I can figure out how to overcome the 128 GB hard drive limit?
I had three in mine, it was one of the later ones. I think that's the maximum, the fourth "slot" is used by the CD drive so you could put in four if you gave up the optical. There is also a size limit of 120 gigs, I tried installing a bigger one and ended up having to put it in a FW case.
milo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2006, 09:22 AM   #3
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
To overcome the 128GB limit, you need this.
__________________
Macbook Air 2010
Core 2 Duo 2.13Ghz
4GB DDR3 RAM
iPhone 5 Black
crazzyeddie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2006, 09:45 AM   #4
princealfie
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
princealfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Salt Lake City UT
Send a message via Yahoo to princealfie
I guess that I can install the hi-cap tech driver after I install the mac os x operating system? I have a 200 gb hard drive in my blue and white g3 and it only has the 128 gb limit. So the rest of the sectors will show up after I install this program on?
princealfie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the max HD size possible in a mid-2010 Mac Mini? alexreich Mac mini 8 Jun 19, 2011 08:42 AM
I have a Jan/2008 MBP - what is the max amount of memory that can be loaded elgrecomac MacBook Pro 1 Oct 30, 2008 09:20 PM
What is using 29 GB of hard drive space G3 Pismo? gbiallas Mac Basics and Help 1 Feb 16, 2007 08:40 PM
What memory can i buy, what is the max that can be put in? jj1985 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 2 Sep 24, 2005 06:15 PM
what is the most # of replies ? holy MAC! Community 3 Jun 18, 2003 05:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC