Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2006, 06:18 PM   #1
MattyMac
macrumors 68000
 
MattyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Preview Wont Open!!!

Ever since I got my mac...see sig. preview wont open and it is very aggrevating. Ive been opening pictures and pdf documents with graphic converter. I click a photo or pdf document and preview pops up on the dock, but then dissapears. Could somebody please help me figure out how to fix this so I can use preview. Thanks so much in advance.
__________________
MattyMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 06:26 PM   #2
Some_Big_Spoon
macrumors 6502a
 
Some_Big_Spoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York, NY
Send a message via AIM to Some_Big_Spoon
Sounds like either a conflict or a permissions issue. Try fixing permissions and running maintenance scripts. Those generally fix weirdness like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattyMac
Ever since I got my mac...see sig. preview wont open and it is very aggrevating. Ive been opening pictures and pdf documents with graphic converter. I click a photo or pdf document and preview pops up on the dock, but then dissapears. Could somebody please help me figure out how to fix this so I can use preview. Thanks so much in advance.
__________________
Celebrating 10 years as a MacRumors member.
Some_Big_Spoon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 06:29 PM   #3
MattyMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
MattyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some_Big_Spoon
Sounds like either a conflict or a permissions issue. Try fixing permissions and running maintenance scripts. Those generally fix weirdness like that.
im sorry, relatively new to macs..how do I do this?
__________________
MattyMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 06:33 PM   #4
Some_Big_Spoon
macrumors 6502a
 
Some_Big_Spoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York, NY
Send a message via AIM to Some_Big_Spoon
Well, some peeps will lambast me for this, but I'd go to versiontracker.com and DL Cocktail and run the cron scripts, perm fix from there. I also use Tiger Cache Cleaner, but the purists will either want you to use cocktail or run it from the terminal, or not do it at all.

I do so much heavy lifting with my macs that Tiger Cache Cleaner is a must for me. Give it a shot and run the standard stuff, then restart. It fixes 95% of the normal operating weirdness I encounter with extended use.

Have you also tried changing what app opens pics? maybe Gaphic Converter hijacked the process?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattyMac
im sorry, relatively new to macs..how do I do this?
__________________
Celebrating 10 years as a MacRumors member.
Some_Big_Spoon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 06:44 PM   #5
MattyMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
MattyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some_Big_Spoon

Have you also tried changing what app opens pics? maybe Gaphic Converter hijacked the process?
No preview is the standard set to open pictures..but it still wont open.
Thanks for your help.
__________________
MattyMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 06:49 PM   #6
Some_Big_Spoon
macrumors 6502a
 
Some_Big_Spoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York, NY
Send a message via AIM to Some_Big_Spoon
I'd say run the scripts then. If that doesn't work, clean out your cache. If that doesn't work, you've got a conflict somewhere in there that might require a reinstall of the combo updater. If that doesn't work, you can do an archive and install. If that doesn't work, a clean install :-D

I say all that because I had a printing issue (print utility would crash on print cmd or PDF from print) that eventually required me to do a clean install to fix. I never found out what the conflict was, but it was worth it for me to actually be able to print from my iMac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattyMac
No preview is the standard set to open pictures..but it still wont open.
Thanks for your help.
__________________
Celebrating 10 years as a MacRumors member.
Some_Big_Spoon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2006, 03:34 AM   #7
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I'd find a file named com.apple.Preview.plist and drag it to the Desktop. You may have a corrupt preference file.

The system apps that Some_Big_Spoon are great but they can be a bit too powerful for the average user. Sometimes I find it's best to let OSX handle the cache files and various maintenance tasks itself.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2006, 12:02 PM   #8
MattyMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
MattyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
I'd find a file named com.apple.Preview.plist and drag it to the Desktop. You may have a corrupt preference file.

The system apps that Some_Big_Spoon are great but they can be a bit too powerful for the average user. Sometimes I find it's best to let OSX handle the cache files and various maintenance tasks itself.
so once I drag that file to the desktop...what do I do next?
__________________
MattyMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2006, 07:18 PM   #9
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Do it while Preview is closed. The next time you open Preview, it'll have to create a new default version which will be corrupt free. This means that if your problem was a corrupt preference file (and it's showing all the right signs) then the corruption will be gone.

Of course, you'll lose all your customised preferences for Preview in the meantime. Thankfully there aren't that many. You can then delete the file on your Desktop if this works. If not, you can put the file back where you found it, replacing the new one, and retain all your old preferences.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 10:35 PM   #10
MattyMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
MattyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
Do it while Preview is closed. The next time you open Preview, it'll have to create a new default version which will be corrupt free. This means that if your problem was a corrupt preference file (and it's showing all the right signs) then the corruption will be gone.

Of course, you'll lose all your customised preferences for Preview in the meantime. Thankfully there aren't that many. You can then delete the file on your Desktop if this works. If not, you can put the file back where you found it, replacing the new one, and retain all your old preferences.
unfortunately preview has never openened at all...
__________________
MattyMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 11:57 PM   #11
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Good point. I should have picked up on that earlier. Irrespective, did trashing the PLIST file help? If not, create a new account in System Preferences and see if it'll let you open Preview from there.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 12:29 AM   #12
OutThere
macrumors 603
 
OutThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
Sounds like the executable has messed up permissions, meaning you're not allowed, for some reason, to execute the application.

My friend made a little app to fix it:

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/21794

I can't remember if it still works in Tiger or not, and I don't have a broken app to fix. Come to think of it, it didn't work last time I tried it, so you should probably do this instead: (this is what the app does automatically)

1)Right Click (or control click), the Preview application in your applications folder.

2)Go to "Show Package Contents"

3)In the folder that opens, open the folder "Contents", and in that folder "MacOS" In that folder there should be a black rectangular icon entitled "Preview. Leave it alone.

4)In the "Utilities" folder in your Applications folder, open the app called "Terminal".

5)In the terminal window that comes up, type, without the quotes, "sudo chmod +x " (with the space on the end)

6)Drag the black "Preview" icon from the "MacOS" folder into the terminal window and drop it there. It should add a line of text to the end of what you just typed looking something like this: "/Applications/Preview.app/Contents/MacOS/Preview "

7)Press enter, put in your admin password, make sure it doesn't give you any errors, and then try to open the Preview application in your Applications folder.


If that doesn't work, why not give that app I mentioned earlier a shot...might as well.
__________________
puisqu'on est jeune et con, puisqu'ils sont vieux et fous. . .
OutThere is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot open multiple images in the same Preview window geotheory OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Feb 16, 2014 08:20 AM
How many photos can I open in preview? tomazl OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Feb 16, 2014 05:33 AM
anyway to open pdfs in chrome w/ preview? maccuser OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 14, 2013 10:28 AM
How do I open PDF with PREVIEW inside chrome? maccuser OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Feb 26, 2013 12:36 AM
Automatically open Preview when an image is in the clipboard GJCAG OS X 0 Sep 15, 2012 09:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC