Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 28, 2006, 04:48 PM   #1
AtHomeBoy_2000
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
HandBrake - Core Duo... WOW!

I just got a Mac to do editing where I work. I got the 20" 2.0 GHz COre Duo iMac. Just for kicks i thought I would give HandBrake a test. I took CHapter 5 (6 minutes and 44 seconds long) of the movie Luther (what can i say? I was born and raised Lutheran and I work for a Lutheran church... it made sence! lol) Anyways, back to my story..... it took about 12 minutes to encode Chapter 5 in H.264 at 661 kbps. It's average frame rate was around 26 fps.

Needless to say... I am VERY impressed.
AtHomeBoy_2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 05:44 PM   #2
MacAficionado
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: An awesome place
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtHomeBoy_2000
I just got a Mac to do editing where I work. I got the 20" 2.0 GHz COre Duo iMac. Just for kicks i thought I would give HandBrake a test. I took CHapter 5 (6 minutes and 44 seconds long) of the movie Luther (what can i say? I was born and raised Lutheran and I work for a Lutheran church... it made sence! lol) Anyways, back to my story..... it took about 12 minutes to encode Chapter 5 in H.264 at 661 kbps. It's average frame rate was around 26 fps.

Needless to say... I am VERY impressed.
Are you using the Universal Binary version? That seems slow compared to the 41 fps average that I get on my 17" 1.83 Ghz CoreDuo.
__________________
17" iMac Intel Core Duo 1.5Gb RAM
MacAficionado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 05:56 PM   #3
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
WOW! Slow

Yes, that is slow. My Macbook Pro gets 1-to-1 when encoding video that is full frame. And it is 25% faster with wide screen captures.

Regular MPEG-4 encoding of course is even faster but it doesn't seem as optimized because my Powermac is faster when encoding MPEG-4 but not H.264.

Perhaps you need more memory. I have 2 GBs in my MBP.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 06:00 PM   #4
AtHomeBoy_2000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
It has 1.5 GB of Ram and was using 2 Pass H.264 if that clearifies.
AtHomeBoy_2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 06:08 PM   #5
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtHomeBoy_2000
It has 1.5 GB of Ram and was using 2 Pass H.264 if that clearifies.
2 pass. Then it is ok. I didn't include the 2nd pass in my calculations.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 06:36 PM   #6
MacAficionado
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: An awesome place
O.k, now it's cool. Just want to make sure you're getting the best out of that beast!
__________________
17" iMac Intel Core Duo 1.5Gb RAM
MacAficionado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 06:48 PM   #7
AtHomeBoy_2000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by BornAgainMac
2 pass. Then it is ok. I didn't include the 2nd pass in my calculations.
Well, I have heard that 2 pass improves the quality slightly, so it made sense to me to do that.

Thanks for relaeving my fears. you scared me for a second there! lol
AtHomeBoy_2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 06:57 PM   #8
jamesmcd
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesmcd
From memory my iMac was doing 70-80 fps for MP4 encoding. My old iMac G4 did around 15.
jamesmcd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 07:18 PM   #9
blueflame
macrumors 6502a
 
blueflame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Studio City
core duo, 2.0ghz

120fps. i was shocked as well. the movie was escape from LA,
1hr 43 minutes,
mpeg 4,
480 x XXX
2 pass
600kbps
took 20 minutes per pass.
wow, this thing SMOKED my 1.67ghz powerbook that would take nearly double that.
andreas
blueflame is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 07:36 PM   #10
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
2 pass really makes a difference. It wouldn't be worth it with a single G4 that takes 24 hours to use a 2 pass encode at full quality for a 2 hour movie. The HandBrake results were the main reason I got a Rev A Intel Mac vs waiting for Rev B.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a little help: Replacing processors - Core Duo to Core2Duo marcel-v Mac Basics and Help 3 Oct 18, 2011 08:31 AM
Handbrake - How to drag-and-drop multiple files?? Khryz Digital Video 2 Jul 24, 2011 12:36 PM
802.11n upgrade - Core Duo MBP smartalic34 MacBook Pro 9 Dec 1, 2009 11:23 AM
FS: MacBook Pro - Core Duo 2 Ghz, 512 Megs - $1300 Shipped adamyoshida Marketplace Archive 2 11 Mar 4, 2007 11:58 PM
Request - Core Duo Icons iamhammill Picture Gallery 0 Jun 23, 2006 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC