Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 3, 2006, 04:35 PM   #1
dakota13
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
New Powerbook pro and pro tools. Any problems?

Had to ask if anyone has heard about any kinks or problems with running pro-tools and the mbox 2 or any other software like final cut on the new powerbook pro? Thanks for any insight.
dakota13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2006, 05:20 PM   #2
Kingsly
macrumors 68040
 
Kingsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Either in front of a computer or behind a camera.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakota13
Had to ask if anyone has heard about any kinks or problems with running pro-tools and the mbox 2 or any other software like final cut on the new powerbook pro? Thanks for any insight.
Its a MacBook Pro.
Mbox crashed mine. Twice. Wait until Digidesign releases the universal version in may.
Unfortunately, there is no workaround to get Protools or Coreaudio manager working under rosetta without causing a kernal panic. Sorry.
Final cut does work, as does soundtrack (under rosetta) or you could pay for the crossgrade and not have to deal with rosetta at all!
Kingsly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 05:55 AM   #3
WinterMute
Moderator emeritus
 
WinterMute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, England
Send a message via AIM to WinterMute Send a message via MSN to WinterMute
As above, Protools will not work under Rossetta on my Intel iMac, and is therefore not currently supported by the MBP.

The latest from Digidesign is that they may have the UA version available by as early the end of April, but expect May.

Logic in it's Universal form absolutely screams on the iMac, I expect Protools to do the same or there's gonna be trouble...
__________________
"Everything in excess, moderation is for monks..." Lazarus Long
--
PotPPP, MoDTPPP
WinterMute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 08:50 AM   #4
dakota13
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by WinterMute
As above, Protools will not work under Rossetta on my Intel iMac, and is therefore not currently supported by the MBP.

The latest from Digidesign is that they may have the UA version available by as early the end of April, but expect May.

Logic in it's Universal form absolutely screams on the iMac, I expect Protools to do the same or there's gonna be trouble...

SHOULD I WAIT FOR THE KINK TO BE WORKED OUT AND get a G4?
dakota13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 08:59 AM   #5
4God
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: My Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakota13
SHOULD I WAIT FOR THE KINK TO BE WORKED OUT AND get a G4?

No, I think I would wait until somebody actually runs ProTools on a new MacBook Pro and see what the results are. If it turns out that the MacBook Pro is stable and fast, then go for it. Otherwise get a refurb G4 - or try Logic Pro.
4God is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 09:04 AM   #6
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakota13
SHOULD I WAIT FOR THE KINK TO BE WORKED OUT AND get a G4?
It's only going to be May, so tough it out.

In the meantime, take a look at logic. Great app and runs amazing on all the intel boxes.
milo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 05:05 PM   #7
dakota13
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
Mbox vs. logic pro with for an xlr mic for the mbp?

Thanks for the feedback everyone. WHAT IS MY OPTION FOR GETTING a HIGH-END XLR-MIC input into a powerbook pro if I don't use the mbox?
Or can I upgrade the Mbox I just purchased in may or there-abouts?



Quote:
Originally Posted by milo
It's only going to be May, so tough it out.

In the meantime, take a look at logic. Great app and runs amazing on all the intel boxes.
dakota13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2006, 12:08 PM   #8
dakota13
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
Xlr Mic Into Macbook Pro

If I do not use the mbox, what is the best and cheapest option to input sound from an xlr mic into the new macbook pro?
thanks.....
dakota13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools/Logic pro people jboyd710 MacBook Pro 6 Jul 20, 2013 04:11 PM
Guitar pro 6 vs Pro tools 8.0.5 LE bhadrakalpa OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Feb 26, 2013 01:58 PM
Baseline Macbook Pro 13" For HD Video Editing, Pro Tools, Photoshop and more. trialsjames MacBook Pro 6 Aug 25, 2012 02:48 AM
Avid's Pro Tools X and Retina Macbook Pro Santiago17a Digital Audio 11 Jul 31, 2012 12:15 PM
Pro Tools 10 and processing power on my MacBook Pro- constant overloads NBarnes21 Digital Audio 2 Jul 3, 2012 01:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC