Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 3, 2006, 06:17 PM   #1
agentphish
macrumors 65816
 
agentphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Powerbook g4 1.5 No menu bar data?

Can anyone help... have a powerbook G4 1.5 ghz, about a year and a half old... I know one of the ram slots is faulty for a while now, but nothing has been wrong till just today. I got no clock/battery/wireless/bluetooth monitors on top right of menu bar... also spotlight icon is just flashing intermittantly.

already zapped pram, repair permisions and fsck. other ideas?

THANK YOU
__________________
agentphish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2006, 06:17 PM   #2
TheMonarch
macrumors 65816
 
TheMonarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bay Area
Hacked Front Row?
__________________
Ever!
TheMonarch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2006, 06:18 PM   #3
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Do you have the FrontRow hack installed? That's what's caused it for the other 25 people on here with the same problem.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2006, 09:03 PM   #4
agentphish
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
agentphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
sorry, forgot i posted...
nope. its not front row, dont have that on. its actually a fresh install that i did on this powerbook. seemed to narrow down the moment when everything went crazy to when i copied my fonts back to the (user)/library/fonts folder.

Ideas?
__________________
agentphish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2006, 09:08 PM   #5
agentphish
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
agentphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
to clarify this isn't my powerbook either, its a friend's we go to school together.
but its basically same specs as in my profile with 1/2 the video ram.
__________________
agentphish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 03:48 AM   #6
Applespider
macrumors 603
 
Applespider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
I had this happen with the 10.4.5 update (and no Front Row hack installed)

The answer was to go into System Preferences and put them all back up there again.

After the 10.4.6, the Bluetooth one disappeared from the menu bar but again, a quick trip to System Preferences brought it back.
__________________
Oops.... the cat killed the rabbit
Applespider is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 display issues alew!mac920 PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 9, 2011 04:25 AM
Account name in the menu bar danakm Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 9 Jul 21, 2011 07:39 AM
How can I stop mac menu bar appearing in games polo3400 Mac and PC Games 4 Feb 17, 2011 04:31 PM
Screen resolution problems results in double menu bar frannyy MacBook 0 Nov 6, 2010 09:03 AM
PowerBook G4 1.5 Memory/resources 99% used with no programs running Agent007 PowerPC Macs 5 Nov 4, 2006 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC