Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2003, 03:46 PM   #1
garzy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
ddr ram?

is it true apples computers cannot utilize ddr ram? what about rd ram? do you think apple has considered using RD ram in their POWER macs? it is supposedly the fastest technology available
garzy is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2003, 04:06 PM   #2
Catfish_Man
macrumors 68030
 
Catfish_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to Catfish_Man
RDRAM is a very mixed blessing. It can transfer a lot of data, but it runs very hot, uses a bunch of power, and takes a long time to start sending data (which results in DDR outperforming it sometimes). Also, it costs a fortune compared to SDRAM. Current PowerMacs use DDR SDRAM, but not all that effectively. Basically it just makes it so that the processor can access the ram at the same time something else is, rather than speeding up the processor's access. The PowerPC 970 will fix this.
Catfish_Man is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2003, 04:11 PM   #3
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Re: ddr ram?

is it true apples computers cannot utilize ddr ram?

Yes, it is true that the bus between the processor daughter card and the UniNorth does not support DDR.

what about rd ram?

Yes, it is true that the bus between the processor daughter card and the UniNorth does not support RD-Ram.

do you think apple has considered using RD ram in their POWER macs?

Yes, but like most other companies they supported DDR instead of a company that was trying to corner the entire RAM market.

it is supposedly the fastest technology available

Yes it does "vibrate" faster than other technologies. But frequency doesn't matter as much as the actual cost or actual GB/s moved.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2003, 07:34 PM   #4
TyleRomeo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York
well as far as I know, RD ram is an Intel thing. So if you support Intel you support RD ram. and isn't DDR 2 coming out soon. Maybe i'm thinking of Dual DDR ram. Well anyway i'd forget about RD ram and wait for DDR ram to be used properly by the mac.

Tyler
__________________
Mac Pro (Early 2008) Dual 2.8GHZ Quad 2GB RAM NVIDIA 8800GT 512MB
Dual 1.25 GHz PowerMac G4; 1.91TB; 2GB RAM ATI 9700 Pro 128MB; Airport
TyleRomeo is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2003, 07:49 PM   #5
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
RDRAM is dead, and I'm glad. It was an expensive, proprietary technology put into place by Rambus, a company who claimed to have the rights to DDR and attempted to stifle DDR adoption to protect their inferior product.

Good riddance.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good and Bad experience with RAM DDR hamkor04 Mac mini 22 Feb 13, 2013 02:02 AM
MDD with DDR-RAM not faster than same CPU speed Quicksilver (SDRAM)? Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 7 Jan 15, 2013 02:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps