Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 9, 2006, 10:47 AM   #1
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
G4 motherboard in a G3 case?

What G4 motherboard would work in a B/W G3 case?

Of course i realize that i could stick a G4 Zif in the one i have, but the motherboard i have has been giving me tons of issues.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2006, 09:55 PM   #2
drj434343
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to drj434343
I believe so

I think it will except for the rear panel, most of the connectors for the MB are in different positions. You'll have to find a way to swap the panels or cuting it away entirely.
drj434343 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2006, 10:40 PM   #3
Sweetfeld28
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
thanks for the reply, but i noticed that the ports won't match. so, i decided not to try that out after all, instead it would make more sense to just find an older Yikes G4.

Thanks again, Ryan
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 04:55 PM   #4
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Any board will work with some tweaking/modding. Remember that it's just a case, and you can always fix anything you do to it, and you should be fine. Just cut away at what you need!
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spyware on Motherboard? Really? wondererpop MacBook Pro 22 May 14, 2014 08:04 AM
Keyboard or Motherboard stealfire MacBook Pro 4 Mar 6, 2014 11:23 AM
macbook motherboard lynx44 MacBook 4 Aug 15, 2013 10:45 PM
Need help about replacing the core2duo motherboard with i5/i7 motherboard brave5213 Buying Tips and Advice 2 Jun 16, 2012 11:13 AM
Soldered onto the motherboard?? djrobsd MacBook Pro 6 Jun 11, 2012 04:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC