Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 11, 2006, 05:59 PM   #1
swindmill
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
768MB RAM vs. 1.25GB in Powerbook

I know this hass probably been discussed, but I just about have my mouse on the "buy" button for extra RAM for my Powerbook, and I want to be sure I'm spending my money wisely.

I know many people recommend going from 512MB to 1.25GB. However, I typically use only Word, TextEdit, Mail, iCal, RSS, Camino, and iTunes. Often times, all of these are open, but none of them are huge resource consumers. So, will I ever really use the 1.25GB or will I be spending an extra $70-80 on unused memory, when 768MB would be plenty?
__________________
27" iMac i3 3.2GHz | 11" MBA i5 1.7GHz | 20" ACD | TV2 | iPhone 5S 32GB Black | iPhone 5 64GB White | iPad 2 64GB 3G | iPad Air 32GB
swindmill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 06:02 PM   #2
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Do you notice a lot of "beachballing?"

Take a look at your Page Ins/Outs in Activity Monitor...what's the ratio look like?
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 06:04 PM   #3
Dandaman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: soCal
Send a message via AIM to Dandaman Send a message via Yahoo to Dandaman
i have the 15 inch 1.5 GHz powerbook with 768MB of RAM and it runs just fine. I might occasionally run Photoshop or FCE and I'll have to wait a bit for those to start up, but for anything else like web browsing, Word, Excel, iCal and such, I'm okay with. Now, it could also be because I am a bit more patient than average, but also, I'm not sure how much of a difference you would notice with that extra RAM.

hope that helps.

daniel
Dandaman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 06:07 PM   #4
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
In my experience, more RAM is always better if you can afford it. I'd look at www.ramseeker.com to see if you can get it cheaper than at Apple; chances are you can.
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 06:11 PM   #5
T-Stex
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
More RAM never hurts. Go to datamem.com and grab a gig there. They've got great prices and totally guarantee their stuff, so you won't be dissapointed.
T-Stex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 06:53 PM   #6
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
I checked datamem, and the price is the best. The difference b/t 512 and 1G is $70 taking into account the best prices of each.
I do get some beachballing when I have a 6 or 7 apps open, which is the typical number. I also get quite a few slowdowns in expose, dashboard, and when switching virtual desktops. Browsing can be pretty slow too with a lot of tabs, but I'm not sure that's a memory problem. If it helps, I notice that I usually have about 5-10MB of free RAM available.

Page ins/outs reads 1214250/690779 as I type this, and at the moment actually have about 30MB of RAM free with 6 apps open.
__________________
27" iMac i3 3.2GHz | 11" MBA i5 1.7GHz | 20" ACD | TV2 | iPhone 5S 32GB Black | iPhone 5 64GB White | iPad 2 64GB 3G | iPad Air 32GB
swindmill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 07:08 PM   #7
Chasealicious
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fayetteville, AR
You will always have a tiny amount of RAM available - and yes, 30 MB is a very tiny amount. If you want to run comfortably, you want to always have at least 100-200 MB free.

I'm assuming that machine hasn't been turned off in a while, but based on that number of pageouts, it will be WELL worth your money to go ahead and get the gig stick.

Best $100 bucks you'll ever spend.
__________________
iMac G5 17" 2Ghz 300GB 2GB
PowerBook G4 12" 1.33Ghz 60GB 1.25GB SD

www.takethispen.com
Chasealicious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 07:50 PM   #8
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
Sounds like 1G is the way to go
__________________
27" iMac i3 3.2GHz | 11" MBA i5 1.7GHz | 20" ACD | TV2 | iPhone 5S 32GB Black | iPhone 5 64GB White | iPad 2 64GB 3G | iPad Air 32GB
swindmill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 08:14 PM   #9
Chasealicious
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fayetteville, AR
I just found this in another thread, and I would jump on it if I were you.

Considering how I already jumped on it myself.

http://www.macmall.com/macmall/shop/...sp?dpno=323943

1GB SO-DIMM PC2700 333MHz Ram, $45. That's a steal.
__________________
iMac G5 17" 2Ghz 300GB 2GB
PowerBook G4 12" 1.33Ghz 60GB 1.25GB SD

www.takethispen.com
Chasealicious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 08:30 PM   #10
interlaced
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chasealicious
Considering how I already jumped on it myself.
A lot of us did. LOL.
interlaced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 08:52 PM   #11
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swindmill
I know this hass probably been discussed, but I just about have my mouse on the "buy" button for extra RAM for my Powerbook, and I want to be sure I'm spending my money wisely.

I know many people recommend going from 512MB to 1.25GB. However, I typically use only Word, TextEdit, Mail, iCal, RSS, Camino, and iTunes. Often times, all of these are open, but none of them are huge resource consumers. So, will I ever really use the 1.25GB or will I be spending an extra $70-80 on unused memory, when 768MB would be plenty?
What you're using is a bit lighter than what I'm using generally but I find myself with Thunderbird, iChat, Firefox, and folding@home running currently and I have about 20 MB free when I have 768 MB total. A lot of RAM is inactive so it can be used but with another two applications active, the beachballs will start to happen as the system dips into the virtual memory.

768 MB might be okay for you, but I haven't seen it be okay for me, though I live with it as is because it's not terrible. Having a bit of patience helps.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2006, 09:12 AM   #12
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
Quote:
Originally Posted by bousozoku
What you're using is a bit lighter than what I'm using generally but I find myself with Thunderbird, iChat, Firefox, and folding@home running currently and I have about 20 MB free when I have 768 MB total. A lot of RAM is inactive so it can be used but with another two applications active, the beachballs will start to happen as the system dips into the virtual memory.

768 MB might be okay for you, but I haven't seen it be okay for me, though I live with it as is because it's not terrible. Having a bit of patience helps.
That helps. I guess in the long run it will be worth an extra $70 to be sure I've got all the memory I need. When I do find myself with a large number apps open, I hate to feel like I need to close a couple in order to get my pb up to speed. It sounds like 1.25G is the sure solution.
__________________
27" iMac i3 3.2GHz | 11" MBA i5 1.7GHz | 20" ACD | TV2 | iPhone 5S 32GB Black | iPhone 5 64GB White | iPad 2 64GB 3G | iPad Air 32GB
swindmill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2006, 11:14 AM   #13
joshwest
macrumors 65816
 
joshwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Send a message via AIM to joshwest Send a message via Yahoo to joshwest
in my opinion my 12" 1.5 Pb has 768 and it flys circles around my old 1.42 iBook that had a gig in it. Im quite confident this will all i need if i ugrade to the maxed 1.25 it will def be for just piece of mind and future expansion into tiger or leopard.
__________________

iMac 27" 2.7 i5 Quad .desk. 2.13 MBA .on the go
.tunes. iPhone 4
joshwest is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook G4 Ram SawyerTHEBEST PowerPC Macs 8 Feb 17, 2013 04:53 AM
HD4000 768MB of VRAM with 8GB of RAM rshock Mac mini 27 Jan 6, 2013 04:34 AM
Powerbook 1.67 RAM mike457 PowerPC Macs 10 Sep 21, 2012 08:30 PM
Can't Upgrade RAM (PowerBook G4) Goftrey PowerPC Macs 12 Jul 21, 2012 12:11 AM
PowerBook G4 RAM issues Starfighter PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 4, 2012 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC