Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 11, 2006, 07:35 PM   #1
SpaceMusic_Guy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mpls., MN
Running Classic on G5 PowerMac ??

O.K. I currently have a Dual Gig Quicksilver and am looking to get a PowerMac G5 soon (and no, I'm not going to wait for the Intel's because they WILL NOT run Classic anymore). However, the G5's don't come with Classic in them and I've been told that you can't install OS 9 on the G5's from an install CD.

I have some older versions of Bryce and Photoshop 6 (w/third party filters that are no longer made) that I still need to use for my Digital Art and Graphics, so I have to have the capability of running Classic on the G5.

Question is: Can you drag a Classic System Folder from my G4 over to the Hard Drive of the G5 and have it run Classic without any problems ??
SpaceMusic_Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 07:48 PM   #2
Laser47
macrumors 6502a
 
Laser47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
Powermac G5's support the classic environment within OSX but not booting directly into OS9. The classic system support installer will be on one of your software install Cd's
__________________
iBook G4 14" 1.42ghz, 1.5gb RAM, 100gb 7200rpm Travelstar, 4G iPod 40gb
Laser47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 09:37 PM   #3
SpaceMusic_Guy
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mpls., MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laser47
Powermac G5's support the classic environment within OSX but not booting directly into OS9. The classic system support installer will be on one of your software install Cd's

Thanks for the info !! The lady in the Mac Dept. at Microcenter was giving me the impression that when I get a new G5 there is no OS 9 CD to even install Classic.......was saying something about having to "drag" a Classic System Folder from another computer into the G5 to get Classic on there at all......what a pain in the A#$ that would have been.
SpaceMusic_Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 running Intel Aragornii Wasteland 57 Apr 15, 2013 03:12 PM
Taking my iPod Classic Running - A question ianwuk iPod 51 Apr 1, 2013 11:32 AM
Classic Mac OS 9.2.2 running Native on G5? WardC PowerPC Macs 1 Oct 29, 2012 07:14 PM
Running PowerMac G5 off IDE Zeke D PowerPC Macs 8 Sep 3, 2012 09:59 PM
Running Matlab on PowerMac G5 aajeev PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 7, 2012 05:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC