Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 13, 2006, 05:47 AM   #1
student_trap
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
Powerbook and 40in TV

Hey guys, a bit of an odd question, but here goes.

I recently aquired a 40inch LCD TV, and want to know whether it is possible to use it as a monitor for my 12in powerbook bought in may 2005, eventually I would like to use my powerbook in clamshell mode with a BT KB and mouse, however my concern at the moment is how I am supposed to connect the two machines. The only cables I have are those that come with my powerbook, so what else do i need?

Also, is it actually going to look any good on this screen, could my powerbook run a screen that big?

Here's a link to the TV ive got:

http://www.johnlewis.com/Audio+and+T...2/Product.aspx

Thanks in advance for any help you can give
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 06:11 AM   #2
exeterbohemian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: brooklyn
i have a 15" powerbook and a 40" sony lcd hd flat panel tv and have managed to connect the two devices quite successfully through various means. i normally connect using the dvi-to-vga adaptor that came with my powerbook and then just a normal vga cable. this is ideal for me since my tv has a vga input. but i've also done it using s-video. i know the 12" powerbook has support for s-video, and it appears that your television has an s-video port on it. in order to connect through this method, it looks as if you'll need to purchase the "S-video and composite video output using mini-DVI to video adapter" accessory that is sold separately by apple. and then just a normal s-video cable. your powerbook should be able to function just fine at that resolution. apple lists it as being able to support up to 2048 x 1536, and your television appears to be 1366 x 768. so in that respect you should be fine. hope this helps. best of luck.
__________________

circuit rider films
exeterbohemian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 06:23 AM   #3
student_trap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by exeterbohemian
i normally connect using the dvi-to-vga adaptor that came with my powerbook and then just a normal vga cable. this is ideal for me since my tv has a vga input
Thanks for the reply

would this be a better way of connecting than with s-video, i don't really have a clue to these things. Seeing as though your TV seems to be similar to mine in terms of specs, any chance mine might have a vga connecter too?

I saw this on the apple website, would this work?

http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObje...4E4&nplm=TC012

Also, is it possible to run a BT KB and mouse from a powerbook that is in clamshell mode? or does the bluetooth cut off when the powerbook lid id closed?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 06:56 AM   #4
exeterbohemian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: brooklyn
that monster cable looks like it should work just fine. essentially it's using the s-video connectivity from the mini-dvi port on the powerbook and integrating the audio in the same cable, converting it from your powerbook's stereo mini-jack into the more tv-friendly red/white rca-plugs. so by all means, that cable looks perfect.

regarding the wireless mouse and keyboard and running in clamshell mode, if you go into system preferences and select the bluetooth tab, there's an option about allowing bluetooth devices to wake the computer. so essentially, with your powerbook up and running and connected to the tv, simply close the lid. the computer will go to sleep, but only until you activate your bluetooth peripherals. when you turn on the mouse and keyboard, the computer will wake up and run just like normal, except with the lid closed and the video output being displayed on the tv.
__________________

circuit rider films
exeterbohemian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 06:58 AM   #5
student_trap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
excellent, thanks for your imput! I'll pick up that cable tonight!
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 07:21 AM   #6
student_trap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
another question:

With the TV and powerbook connected, will i be able to watch proper high def TV downloaded from the internet (movie trailers from apple etc), as the TV is HD ready?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 07:25 AM   #7
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murka
Quote:
Originally Posted by student_trap
is it actually going to look any good on this screen, could my powerbook run a screen that big?

don't think physical size - look at the resolution. the PBG4 12" will support it natively, but if i remember correctly, because of the resolution, it will need a tweakey programme to get it perfect.

i can't remember the name of it but i know people here know about it, so they may offer up the name..
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 07:29 AM   #8
student_trap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy
because of the resolution, it will need a tweakey programme to get it perfect
if i don't do this, what will be different?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 07:43 AM   #9
Shadow
macrumors 68000
 
Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Keele, United Kingdom
Send a message via MSN to Shadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by student_trap
if i don't do this, what will be different?
The quality will be bad.

Also, do NOT use S-Video if possible. A freind used it so he could play San Andreas on his TV from his laptop, and the quality was pathetic-he couldnt even run San Andreas! The text was all blurry, and the movement was jerky. And don't ask-his laptop is good-3.4GHz Pentium 4; ATi X6-something; 2BG RAM (good in the respect that it is a Windows machine).
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.66GHz C2D 8GB 128GB SSD 9600m
iPhone 4 16GB
Shadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 12:02 PM   #10
student_trap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
Hi guys just an update, when i checked it all out i found a VGA port on my TV. I bought a cable, connected the two and now all is working fine! Its a great picture. Now I just have to pick up a apple wireless KB and mouse and I'm set!

One thing though, the powerbook even when outputting the maximum resolution that i can select (for the TV), won't fill the entire screen of the tv, is this because the screen is just too wide, or could i get my pb to use every pixel?

Thanks for your advice though, it was very useful
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 02:08 PM   #11
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by student_trap
Hi guys just an update, when i checked it all out i found a VGA port on my TV. I bought a cable, connected the two and now all is working fine! Its a great picture. Now I just have to pick up a apple wireless KB and mouse and I'm set!

One thing though, the powerbook even when outputting the maximum resolution that i can select (for the TV), won't fill the entire screen of the tv, is this because the screen is just too wide, or could i get my pb to use every pixel?

Thanks for your advice though, it was very useful
What do you mean that it won't fill the screen. First off, you never explained why you connect the TV to your computer via VGA rather than DVI. Second, I have never seen an HDTV monitor that didn't have numerous settings whose express purpose is to fill the screen. They are as close as your remote control.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 02:27 PM   #12
student_trap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe
What do you mean that it won't fill the screen. First off, you never explained why you connect the TV to your computer via VGA rather than DVI. Second, I have never seen an HDTV monitor that didn't have numerous settings whose express purpose is to fill the screen. They are as close as your remote control.
basically it fills the screen top to bottom, but there is about an inch either side which my powerbook isn't feeding a signal to.

Im not sure whether there is a dvi port on the TV, what does it look like? there is a mini DVI port on my powerbook, and i am currently using mini DVI>VGA adaptor (that came with my powerbook) >VGA extension cable>TV.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 03:21 PM   #13
MacRumorsReader
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I hooked up my 12" PB via VGA to my projector once and was able to push a 110" HD image.

I had also ran a few games.

Very Nice to look at. I don't have my 12" anymore so I can't relive those days for you (and take pictures). But it'll work. if you can use the mini-DVI to DVI connector, all the better. The picture will be markedly sharper.
__________________
I'm a reader, not a poster.

17 3.06 4 500 7200 Matte
MacRumorsReader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 05:52 PM   #14
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by student_trap
....

Im not sure whether there is a dvi port on the TV, what does it look like? ....
Google is your friend.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook G4 stusipod4g PowerPC Macs 1 Mar 14, 2014 08:37 AM
Looking for a PowerBook rex450se PowerPC Macs 6 Dec 6, 2013 08:36 PM
Help with Powerbook G4 Vilynye PowerPC Macs 21 Jan 28, 2013 05:36 PM
PowerBook G4? w00t951 PowerPC Macs 25 Sep 2, 2012 02:40 AM
What to do with an old powerbook? sim667 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 21, 2012 09:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC