Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 18, 2006, 07:33 AM   #1
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
Help with non-working Menu button

The title says it all. I have an iPod mini which works fine, except for the fact that the menu button on the scroll wheel doesn't work. I can scroll and use all the other buttons, just not the menu. Any ideas where I should start?

Not that it helps, but it's used with both an iBook and Powerbook.

Edit: I've also tried reinstalling the newest ipod updater, as well as installing one from 2004, when it was purchased. Neither one has made a difference.
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit

Last edited by gauchogolfer; Apr 18, 2006 at 10:06 AM.
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 05:48 AM   #2
mannix87
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: in the southeast
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauchogolfer
The title says it all. I have an iPod mini which works fine, except for the fact that the menu button on the scroll wheel doesn't work. I can scroll and use all the other buttons, just not the menu. Any ideas where I should start?

Not that it helps, but it's used with both an iBook and Powerbook.

Edit: I've also tried reinstalling the newest ipod updater, as well as installing one from 2004, when it was purchased. Neither one has made a difference.
have you tried the various Rs? don't take my word for it but it sounds like a hardware problem.
__________________
if you can read this, you're sitting too close to your Mac.
mannix87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 06:15 AM   #3
gauchogolfer
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
Yeah, I gave the R's from Apple's help area a go before I posted here. One thing that's strange is that I can still force the iPod to reinitialize, via holding down the menu+centerbutton for several seconds. So, it seems like some connection is there because it recognizes that I'm pushing it. It seems like it must be software related, but I can't for the life of me think what else to try. It's past warranty, or I'd just send it in.
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 06:44 AM   #4
student_trap
macrumors 68000
 
student_trap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'Ol Smokey, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauchogolfer
One thing that's strange is that I can still force the iPod to reinitialize, via holding down the menu+centerbutton for several seconds
this is the odd thing, i naturally assumed it to be a hardware problem, but that is odd. Does it always work when resetting? as it could be a problem with contacts between the button and the ipod body? Can you still turn off the backlight with the menu button?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8 Octo and macbook 2.13
Too many iPods
Too few ears
student_trap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 08:46 AM   #5
gauchogolfer
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
The forced rebooting is reproducible, and in fact after the reboot the menu button sometimes works for a few seconds, but then stops. As for turning off the backlight, I'm not sure I understand. If I hold down the menu button, should that turn off the backlight? I'll give it a try nonetheless.

Edit: nevermind about the backlight question, I figured that part out. Nope, I can't change the status of the backlight using the menu button.
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit

Last edited by gauchogolfer; Apr 19, 2006 at 08:55 AM.
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 08:54 AM   #6
gauchogolfer
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
Curiouser and curiouser...

So, do iPods have logic boards that can fail? This has just gotten weirder.
If I hold down the play button to turn off the unit, nothing happens. I still have the menu button problem as well. BUT, if I move the hold switch from locked to unlocked and back again, it acts as the menu button would and moves me up one level in the hierarchy. Can I proclaim this iPod mini officially screwed™?
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2006, 02:46 PM   #7
lwhansen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Have the exact same problem!

You are not alone my friend! My 4'th gen 60GB iPod has the same problem. It happens after hours (maybe days) of continuous play through Shuffled Songs. Suddenly, I cannot turn the darn thing off and the menu button does not respond. The only fix I knew off, until I read this thread, was to let it run out of battery. I hate UI's that are so smart they do not work. I have not tried messing with the HOLD button. One more thing, I have only noticed this after unplugging it from the power and taking it home from work. I get home and cannot turn it off. Really frustrating!!!!!

If anybody cares, here is the About information on my iPod:

Songs 3589
Photos 0
Capacity 55.7 GB
Avaiable 34.6 GB
Version 1.2.1
S/N JQ532EUHSAZ
Model M9830LL
Format Windows

I believe the software it up-to-date. I downloaded the latest software a few months ago.

Thanks,
Lars


Quote:
Originally Posted by gauchogolfer
So, do iPods have logic boards that can fail? This has just gotten weirder.
If I hold down the play button to turn off the unit, nothing happens. I still have the menu button problem as well. BUT, if I move the hold switch from locked to unlocked and back again, it acts as the menu button would and moves me up one level in the hierarchy. Can I proclaim this iPod mini officially screwed™?
lwhansen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 02:19 PM   #8
larsak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Same here!

I have exactly the same problems that you are experiencing.

If you have found a solution to your problem I would be very happy to hear about it.

Cheers,

Lars
larsak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 black screen. Power button and home button not working. brian4la iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 25, 2014 05:54 PM
My Finder drop-down menu isn't working GanChan Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 16, 2013 09:30 AM
Assisstive Touch - Want to move Screen Shot button to top menu patent10021 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 20, 2013 03:44 AM
Pages 09 share menu not working has.marvel Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 May 8, 2013 10:11 AM
Partition working But not appearing in startup disk menu Skzerk Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Aug 12, 2012 03:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC