Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 19, 2006, 10:57 PM   #1
matthews1492
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
TiBook stuck after rebooting to os9!

Hi my TiBook867 has Tiger and classic installed. For kicks I selected os9 as the startup volume and then restarted the system. I was greeted by a tiny disc in the middle of the screen with a blinking question mark. I tried using the "x or option x" to get back to osx, using the install cd repair to fix the drive and even tried zapping the pram, but nothing is getting me back to the osx. Anyone have a trick that I havent thought of or had this happen to them?

Thanks
matthews1492 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:12 PM   #2
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
Press and hold the "option" key after a reboot. This should give you the boot menu, where you can select your startup disk.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:17 PM   #3
matthews1492
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
I just tried that but it only shows one volume of "macintosh HD" and it looks like it has the os9 logo in the corner, i click it and it takes me to the same blinking questionmark disk. any other suggestions?
matthews1492 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:28 PM   #4
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
Hmmm...Maybe try resetting NVRAM:

press and hold "command-option-O-F" after a reboot

at the prompt, type the following, pressing return after each line:

reset-nvram
set-defaults
reset-all

the computer should reboot after the last entry.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:34 PM   #5
matthews1492
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
its still doing it! this is so bizarre. is their a command in the firmware to manually choose the path to a startup volume or something?

thanks so much for your help
matthews1492 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:37 PM   #6
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthews1492
its still doing it! this is so bizarre. is their a command in the firmware to manually choose the path to a startup volume or something?
I'm not certain. You could try typing "mac-boot" in open firmware, see if that does anything.

What utility did you use to check the drive? An OS X install disk?
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:41 PM   #7
matthews1492
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Yeah it was the osx 10.2 that came with the computer. i ran the repair disk, but it checked out ok. Would installing 10.2 onto my firewire ipod and booting from that hypothetically work? And once into osx10.2 select the osx 10.4 volume that is on my HD?
matthews1492 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:48 PM   #8
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthews1492
Would installing 10.2 onto my firewire ipod and booting from that hypothetically work? And once into osx10.2 select the osx 10.4 volume that is on my HD?
Yes, you can install OS X onto an iPod and then boot off of it.

I've never tried running an older version of disk utility on a drive with a newer operating system. I would have suggested using your 10.4 install disk, but I assume you don't have one?

If you don't have any other utilities to work with right now (such as disk warrior), you could go ahead and try the iPod trick and see if you can select your 10.4 system using the startup disk system preference pane.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2006, 11:51 PM   #9
matthews1492
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
oooh that 10.4 disk utility would probably be different, thats a good idea. it says i have 13 mins left on the install so I might let it go and then try the 10.4 disk.

ill be sure to report back on if it was a success of not, thanks
matthews1492 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 12:28 AM   #10
matthews1492
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
ah using the 10.4 disk did the trick! there is a lot more disk utility / startup disk options on it. lesson learned is don't assume to use the origional 10.2 installation disk when you have tiger installed. thanks again for all your help : disaster averted.
matthews1492 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS stuck on white screen after rebooting jca69 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Dec 16, 2013 03:16 PM
Rebooting Issue thomamon MacBook Pro 7 May 10, 2013 02:02 PM
iPhone: Iphone keeps rebooting dangerzone9k Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 14 Mar 17, 2013 08:13 PM
ML rebooting without notice..! 50548 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Nov 17, 2012 08:56 AM
iPad Stuck Rebooting when Charging from Flat Abarth1200 iPad 0 Jul 4, 2012 04:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC