Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 20, 2006, 08:16 AM   #1
dalvin200
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Add Applications Folder to Dock?

How do you do this?

Everytime I drag the Applications folder from the left side of the Finder window to the dock, I just see a poof of smoke and nothing gets added to the dock BUT the Applications folder from the left side of the Finder window disappears!!

Am I doing the dragging/dropping wrong or something? I've tried to add it to the right hand side of the dock (the side by the Trash can), and it still does the same thing.

Thanks
__________________
Search before you post: MRoogle
dalvin200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 08:21 AM   #2
eVolcre
macrumors 65816
 
eVolcre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
You can't drag it from the left menu bar since that's a shortcut to begin with. Click on Macintosh HD. You should see an applications folder. Click on it and drag it down. It will get added to the dock

eV
__________________
I just found my lost 12" Powerbook!!!
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=769216
eVolcre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 08:26 AM   #3
dalvin200
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by eVolcre
You can't drag it from the left menu bar since that's a shortcut to begin with. Click on Macintosh HD. You should see an applications folder. Click on it and drag it down. It will get added to the dock

eV
OHH.. i see.. thanks for that

just to note: windows allows shiortcut dragging/dropping :P
__________________
Search before you post: MRoogle
dalvin200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 08:38 AM   #4
uaaerospace
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalvin200
OHH.. i see.. thanks for that

just to note: windows allows shiortcut dragging/dropping :P
If you have an alias (shortcut) to a file, you may drag the alias to the dock. It seems to just not work with the items in the finder window sidebar.
__________________
Two 27" 3.4 i7 2011 iMacs w/2/3 Monitors
Black Macbook C2D, 2.0, 160 GB HD, 2GB RAM (Looking rough, but still a decent machine)
Hackintosh Media Server, 2.66 Quad Core i7, 6 GB RAM, 13 TB HDs
uaaerospace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 06:04 PM   #5
MotorcycleBetty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
I've had my applications folder in my dock since buying my MacBook several months ago. Today I was helping a friend with his new MacBook, and I deleted it from the dock so I could show him how to put it back, only when I put it back, it's got the wrong icon! It displays correctly when I click on it, but how do I get the correct icon back? I tried 3 times, and this happens every time.
MotorcycleBetty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 06:56 PM   #6
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
What do you mean the wrong icon? It's uses whatever the first app in the folder is as the icon.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 07:32 PM   #7
MotorcycleBetty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
It used to show me a folder with an A in it. Now it shows an application (program) icon.
MotorcycleBetty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 07:42 PM   #8
johto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotorcycleBetty View Post
It used to show me a folder with an A in it. Now it shows an application (program) icon.
Here you go
johto is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 08:53 PM   #9
MotorcycleBetty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Perfect! Thank you!
MotorcycleBetty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 05:24 PM   #10
MotorcycleBetty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
OK, so it worked great for ME, but my friend came back and his right click menu does not have the options mine does (he's got a brand new MBP Leopard ver 10.5). "Sort by" is on a sub-menu, "Display as" isn't there at all, and "View Content" isn't there at all. Why is his right-click menu different from mine, and how can I get around this so his applications icon displays correctly?
MotorcycleBetty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 07:18 PM   #11
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 604
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotorcycleBetty View Post
OK, so it worked great for ME, but my friend came back and his right click menu does not have the options mine does (he's got a brand new MBP Leopard ver 10.5). "Sort by" is on a sub-menu, "Display as" isn't there at all, and "View Content" isn't there at all. Why is his right-click menu different from mine, and how can I get around this so his applications icon displays correctly?
Tell him to update his system. Those options for stacks came in 10.5.something. I can't remember which update version, but I think it was 10.5.2 update.
__________________
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 10:06 AM   #12
MotorcycleBetty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
That's an easy solution! I told him to update his system last week right after he bought it...I told him again yesterday. I will tell him again tomorrow. Thank you.
MotorcycleBetty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 05:41 PM   #13
brandaopj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portugal
now i want to do the same effect in utilities folder inside apps that is already in dock... how can i do this? because when i open utilities it open a window with finder
brandaopj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 09:16 PM   #14
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Dead thread revival alert! but I'll answer anyway. Just open a Finder window, navigate to your Applications folder and then scroll down to where the Utilities folder is. Don't open the utilities folder, just click and hold on the folder and then drag it into the Dock. To adjust the folder's display settings just follow the instructions discussed previously, some time ago , in this thread.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Yosemite & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue, iPod touch 5G 16 GB Blue
iPhone 6+ 128 GB Gold
MacManiac76 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2010, 05:36 AM   #15
brandaopj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portugal
but i want a utilities stack inside the apps stack. Other thing is the size of window that opens with the stack of apps... is it possible to choose the size?
brandaopj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2010, 09:04 AM   #16
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotorcycleBetty View Post
That's an easy solution! I told him to update his system last week right after he bought it...I told him again yesterday. I will tell him again tomorrow. Thank you.
Hope she got him/her a hearing aid!

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandaopj View Post
but i want a utilities stack inside the apps stack. Other thing is the size of window that opens with the stack of apps... is it possible to choose the size?
Same right click on the Applications Stack... choose View content as List
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2010, 04:07 PM   #17
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandaopj View Post
but i want a utilities stack inside the apps stack. Other thing is the size of window that opens with the stack of apps... is it possible to choose the size?
I'm guessing you want to be able to look inside of the Utilities folder from within the Applications folder's Stack display. This is only possible in Snow Leopard (OX X 10.6.x). In Leopard you could do as stated above and change the display type to List and you can view inside subfolders in the Stack.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Yosemite & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue, iPod touch 5G 16 GB Blue
iPhone 6+ 128 GB Gold
MacManiac76 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2010, 07:41 PM   #18
brandaopj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
I'm guessing you want to be able to look inside of the Utilities folder from within the Applications folder's display.
yes thats what i want. but when i am inside apps folder launched from the dock i cant select the options to choose the view of utilities folder... how can i set the utilities to appear as the apps folder in the dock?
brandaopj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2010, 09:25 AM   #19
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
I'm guessing you want to be able to look inside of the Utilities folder from within the Applications folder's Stack display.
What?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandaopj View Post
...but when i am inside apps folder launched from the dock i cant select the options to choose the view of utilities folder ...how can i set the utilities to appear as the apps folder in the dock?
1st part: Launched, meaning you've now opened your Applications folder in a Finder window?

2nd part: The way that's written, it could be rephrased as: "How can I set the Utilities (folder?) to look like the Applications folder in the Dock?" But somehow, I don't think that's what you mean. However, I can't get past that interpretation and divine some other intent. Sorry if I'm being dense. If you don't have the answer you want, could you clarify the question?
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2010, 10:56 AM   #20
brandaopj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portugal
ok... i will try to clarify

from the dock i launch application folder and it opens in dock as a folder with the several apps i have (not in finder) from that new window with the apps i want to open the folders with that window effect from the dock and not in finder...

For example the i want to open apps and then the folder microsoft office 2008 but see the microsoft programs in dock and not in finder
brandaopj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2010, 01:25 PM   #21
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Sorry, I'm not getting it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandaopj View Post
from the dock i launch application folder and it opens in dock...
Please use some term besides "launch". Describe your action: I right click on... and then... happens, or whatever you're doing. Then, clarify "opens in Dock". Things don't open in the Dock, they open in Finder or some other application. The Dock is only that strip of icons at the bottom (or side) of the screen. Sorry if that's too basic, but I'm trying to understand so I can help you.

Quote:
opens... as a folder with the several apps i have (not in finder) from that new window...
You have almost perfectly described a Finder window. Finder is an application that interfaces between you and the CPU. It allows you to see your folders and files in windows on the Desktop. Apologies again, just trying to get somewhere.

Quote:
with the apps i want to open the folders with that window effect from the dock and not in finder...
What this describes is not possible. Maybe what you want is possible, but it's not being described with the terminology you're using. It might be necessary to have pictures, but I can't tell you how to do that.

If someone else is understanding this, please help! I don't need to understand if bandaopj gets a solution, but I'm baffled.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2010, 01:28 PM   #22
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandaopj View Post
ok... i will try to clarify

from the dock i launch application folder and it opens in dock as a folder with the several apps i have (not in finder) from that new window with the apps i want to open the folders with that window effect from the dock and not in finder...

For example the i want to open apps and then the folder microsoft office 2008 but see the microsoft programs in dock and not in finder
You can't open a stack within a stack. The effect you're referring to only occurs in a stack that is on the Dock.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2010, 04:30 PM   #23
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandaopj View Post
ok... i will try to clarify

from the dock i launch application folder and it opens in dock as a folder with the several apps i have (not in finder) from that new window with the apps i want to open the folders with that window effect from the dock and not in finder...

For example the i want to open apps and then the folder microsoft office 2008 but see the microsoft programs in dock and not in finder
What you want can only be done in 2 ways, depending on which OS you have.

On Leopard, right click on the Applications folder in the Dock and select List from the View Content As options. Anything inside the Applications folder will display in a List. You cannot change the display options for any folders within the Applications folder, they will retain whatever view you have set for the Applications folder in the Dock.

On Snow Leopard you have a 2nd option. You can change the display option to Grid in the View Content As options for the Applications folder. Now when you scroll to where the Utilities folder is in that Grid you can click on it and then all the programs in the Utilities folder will display in a new Grid.

And as far as your last question about controlling the size of the Grid display, I don't think you can, the system just determines it on its own.

I hope this helps clarify what you want and how to achieve it. If not, then I and all the rest here really have no clue what you want. Good luck.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Yosemite & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue, iPod touch 5G 16 GB Blue
iPhone 6+ 128 GB Gold
MacManiac76 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2010, 05:43 PM   #24
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
What you want can only be done in 2 ways, depending on which OS you have.
I was gonna get to that, after I understood the question. To the Original Poster of this question we're trying to decipher: always provide your OS version when you're asking a question about how something works on your computer!

Kudos to MM76 for providing answers for two versions!

Quote:
On Leopard, right click on the Applications folder in the Dock and select List from the View Content As options.
Just highlighting this again, as it was the first thing I suggested to this poster, and deserves a thumbs up or thumbs down to help us out.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 08:26 PM   #25
bluebottle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
On Snow Leopard you have a 2nd option. You can change the display option to Grid in the View Content As options for the Applications folder. Now when you scroll to where the Utilities folder is in that Grid you can click on it and then all the programs in the Utilities folder will display in a new Grid.
Thanks for this, was also very useful for me as I had the same problem/need
bluebottle is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
add the Applications icon to Dock cgm707 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Mar 5, 2014 01:42 PM
Utilities Folder missing from Applications Dock Folder stonewall777 Mac Basics and Help 2 Jan 20, 2014 01:52 PM
Dock Applications folder showing .app najicta OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Nov 19, 2013 07:09 AM
How to add a folder to Left side of dock merelli OS X 1 Oct 15, 2012 12:58 PM
Applications folder gone from dock domesticgoddess Mac Basics and Help 4 Jun 26, 2012 06:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC