Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 21, 2006, 07:52 PM   #1
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
biggest hard drive on an iMac G3? 250gig?

Does anyone know if I can put a 250 gig deskstar hard drive 7200rpms, on a 500mhz iMac G3? I have put a 120gig hd on one it works flawlessly. But do i need to partition this? I cannot remember or figure it out.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2006, 08:06 PM   #2
Heb1228
macrumors 68020
 
Heb1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Send a message via AIM to Heb1228
iMac G3s do not have large drive support, so they will not support over 128GB. Anything over a 120 GB drive is really only a waste. You can put the 250GB in, but about 120GB of it won't be any use to you.
__________________
17" MPB, 2.8
My Sites: Me, Mom's Art, Dad's Co., Church
Heb1228 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2006, 08:55 PM   #3
California
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
So, what will happen if I put the 250gig drive in the old iMac? Do you think it will affect performance or just not register the extra space? The difference between the 250 gig and a 120 gig deskstar, is that the 250 has a larger (8mb) cache than the 120 that has a 2mb cache. I guess i'll just drop it in the iMac if it doesn't hurt anything...
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2006, 10:07 PM   #4
emaja
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by California
So, what will happen if I put the 250gig drive in the old iMac? Do you think it will affect performance or just not register the extra space?
Your Mac will only see this first 128GB and not be able to see or use the remainder of the drive.

There are 120GB drives with the 8MB cache. They run about $70 or so.
emaja is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 iMac, Will I still have fan issues if I get a hard drive from another iMac? fendert iMac 2 May 18, 2014 10:04 PM
Hard Drive in new iMac DianeK iMac 4 Nov 6, 2013 04:43 PM
iMac no longer sees fusion drive after hard drive replacement cole01 iMac 6 Jul 21, 2013 11:44 AM
Where is imac hard drive? MVWP iMac 10 Jan 6, 2013 04:16 PM
Drive enclosure for old iMac hard drive Simonmiller iMac 3 Dec 4, 2012 09:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC