Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Old Apr 25, 2006, 02:03 PM   #1
ivblaze
macrumors newbie

Re-package an app into a 'self extracting/installing' file

Hi,
I'm a newbie to MAC's, mainly PC due to my job. But I now need to re-package an application for OSX into something that is similar to a self extracting zipped exe file. I know its not possible to create a exe file for a mac but I need to create a file that essentially functions like an exe would. I'm really not sure where to even start so any help would be very helpful. Thanks so much!!

Last edited by ivblaze; Apr 25, 2006 at 02:18 PM.
ivblaze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2006, 03:02 AM   #2
Soulstorm
macrumors 68000

I'm not sure that I understand what you mean.

If you want an application to be repackaged for os x do these things:

--Rebuild your application for OS X.
--Install the developer tools that exist on the OS X installation CD. Along with the main program, (Xcode), many additional utilities will be installed, that are very useful, even if you are not a programmer.

The application you need is PackageMaker and lies in "Developer/Applications/Utilities" folder (supposing you have installed developer tools).

That's the application you will need to create .pkg programs, which are self-install programs. The learning curve is pretty short, sure Apple has done great work into packageMaker. I'm sure it will help you.
Soulstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2006, 09:49 AM   #3
kainjow
Moderator emeritus

PackageMaker is preferred, since it uses Installer (/Applications/Utilities) which comes with all OS X versions (free). There are commercial alternatives that were more popular in the pre-OS X days that are still used by big companies like Adobe and Microsoft.