Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:23 PM   #1
rayray1017
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas, Houston
how do i boot up my intel mac into the bios?

well thats pretty much my question. i was just wondering what keys i need to press to load up the bios. on my thinkpad it's f1.
rayray1017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:26 PM   #2
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
The Intel Macs don't use BIOS, and as far as I know there's no way to boot into EFI.

What is it you want to do?
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:46 PM   #3
Benjamindaines
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
You cant:

1. There is no BIOS on the intel macs

2. There is no way into EFI, the closest thing you can get is verbose mode (I think thats what this called)
__________________

Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:48 PM   #4
rayray1017
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas, Houston
can you elaborate, because i dont know what efi is or what verbose mode is? thanks for the info too guys.
rayray1017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:52 PM   #5
Heb1228
macrumors 68020
 
Heb1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Send a message via AIM to Heb1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayray1017
can you elaborate, because i dont know what efi is or what verbose mode is? thanks for the info too guys.
You probably need to elaborate what you are trying to do if you want us to help you. Wikipedia can probably tell you all you need to know about the specifics of BIOS and EFI: BIOS, EFI articles.
__________________
17" MPB, 2.8
My Sites: Me, Mom's Art, Dad's Co., Church
Heb1228 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:53 PM   #6
Benjamindaines
macrumors 68030
 
Benjamindaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A religiously oppressed state
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayray1017
can you elaborate, because i dont know what efi is or what verbose mode is? thanks for the info too guys.
EFI is Apple's boot loader in Intel Macs (was OpenFirmWare on PPC Macs). Verbose mode (also knows as single user mode) is when you start up into a UNIX command prompt. To get into Verbose mode you hold down Command + Shift + S on boot.
__________________

Benjamindaines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:54 PM   #7
rayray1017
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas, Houston
umm, im just a noob and thought that it would be cool to load up a bios type screen and look around. thanks for the links.
rayray1017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 07:57 PM   #8
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
It's really easy to get to the EFI screen. Just use rEFit...

http://refit.sourceforge.net/
maverick808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 08:00 PM   #9
Heb1228
macrumors 68020
 
Heb1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Send a message via AIM to Heb1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayray1017
umm, im just a noob and thought that it would be cool to load up a bios type screen and look around. thanks for the links.
No problem. Letting us know that in the beginning just helps us know better how to direct the answers of questions in a way that'll be helpful. Really anything like BIOS settings that can be changed are done mostly in System Preferences. You can get some apps to tinker with other things, like there's one I have that either mutes or lowers the volume of your startup sound. You can search www.versiontracker.com for stuff like that.
__________________
17" MPB, 2.8
My Sites: Me, Mom's Art, Dad's Co., Church
Heb1228 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 08:02 PM   #10
rayray1017
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas, Houston
you guys are awesome. thanks for all the good info.
rayray1017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2006, 03:35 AM   #11
PatrickF
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Blighty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benjamindaines
Verbose mode (also knows as single user mode) is when you start up into a UNIX command prompt. To get into Verbose mode you hold down Command + Shift + S on boot.
Actually verbose mode and single user are two different things (at least they were on PPC).

Verbose mode will boot OS X normally, however, rather than showing you the shiny Apple logo with the spinning thing you'll get a black screen showing you the boot messages. If I remember correctly you do this by holding down V.

Single user mode boots you into a half loaded state (just gives you a terminal with not a lot loaded). This one would be Option + S.
PatrickF is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I set up My AirPort Extreme + WD My Book To Make a Media Drive For my Network? polo3400 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Jul 12, 2011 12:30 PM
500mb My Book external Hard drive How Do I boot up from it?? sssail Mac Basics and Help 17 Aug 26, 2010 01:57 PM
Stuck in Windows 7 - How do I boot from my mac partition? scem0 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 15 Nov 9, 2009 02:14 PM
How do I back up my 10.3.9 mac using Time Capsule? jk000 Mac Peripherals 1 Jan 18, 2009 10:23 AM
[Mac Pro] How do I boot from my Mac OS X Install DVD with 8800GT? TheSpaz Mac Pro 24 Jun 4, 2008 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC