Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2006, 09:45 PM   #1
chrislee8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY, NY
Send a message via AIM to chrislee8
connect pc to mac display

I have my pc, yes, regular pc, not a mac, but i also have purchased a mac display, how do i connect them?

I think i look for a DVI female to VGA male, can't find nothing.

I am sure there are people using apple's display as monitor, how come I don't find much information how to puchase one?

anywhere in nyc i can just buy it from store?

please advise.

thanks
chrislee8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 10:16 PM   #2
reh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arkansas
What type of video output does your PC have?

What Apple display did you purchase? What sort of video input does it have?
reh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2006, 12:05 AM   #3
chrislee8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY, NY
Send a message via AIM to chrislee8
the pc has ati redeon 7600 pro which has regular vga and svideo out.
the display is formac 20" which has the DVI and a ADC converter.

thanks
chrislee8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2006, 12:15 AM   #4
reh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arkansas
I don't think you can do that with a simple cable adapter. I'd suggest just replacing your PC's video card with something that has DVI. The convertors I found run about $300...

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=1310
http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=1301
reh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2006, 02:35 AM   #5
Josias
macrumors 68000
 
Josias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislee8
the pc has ati redeon 7600 pro which has regular vga and svideo out.
the display is formac 20" which has the DVI and a ADC converter.

thanks
Impossible. You need a DVI or ADC port on the graphics card.

You can get a ADC to DVI adapter for $100, but just get another videocard. May I suggest nVida 5200 FX 128 MB DDR RAM. My dad has it, and it has a Duallink DVI-I. Extreme!
__________________
Consistent crushes on random female singers - current: Mariah Carey
Josias is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 11:21 AM   #6
chrislee8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY, NY
Send a message via AIM to chrislee8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josias
Impossible. You need a DVI or ADC port on the graphics card.

You can get a ADC to DVI adapter for $100, but just get another videocard. May I suggest nVida 5200 FX 128 MB DDR RAM. My dad has it, and it has a Duallink DVI-I. Extreme!
Is it really impossible?

My 7600 has a DVI port, so it works for my PC with this monitor.

But I have 4 computers (2 desktops and 2 laptops) only the graphics machine has the DVI port. I like to connect two of my laptops with this monitor, I bought a comtop DVI to VGA adapter from DataVision. But it is not working.

Do I have to spend $300 for a DVI to VGA converter?

There gotta be someone has both mac and pc using DVI display.

Come'on, help me out, thanks
chrislee8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 11:25 AM   #7
chrislee8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY, NY
Send a message via AIM to chrislee8
Maybe I should sell this one and get a 20" VGA.

is DVI specific to Mac? if yes, I will add one more to my "don't buy mac" list. (teasing u :P)
chrislee8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 11:27 AM   #8
reh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislee8
Maybe I should sell this one and get a 20" VGA.
Yes. Either that or get a DVI capable graphics card (if it's for a tower).

Quote:
is DVI specific to Mac?
No.
reh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 11:32 AM   #9
reh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislee8
...I bought a comtop DVI to VGA adapter from DataVision. But it is not working.

Do I have to spend $300 for a DVI to VGA converter?
You're confusing a DVI to VGA adapter with a VGA to DVI converter. They are not the same thing. What you bought allows you to connect a VGA display to a computer with a DVI port. What you need is a convertor that allows you to connect a DVI display to a computer with a VGA port (this is much more difficult, which is why it costs more).
reh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 11:43 AM   #10
steve_hill4
macrumors 68000
 
steve_hill4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NG9, England
Send a message via ICQ to steve_hill4 Send a message via AIM to steve_hill4 Send a message via MSN to steve_hill4 Send a message via Yahoo to steve_hill4 Send a message via Skype™ to steve_hill4
Are there any alternative displays out there which have DVI and VGA inputs on them? A good compromise for someone wanting to hook up a Mac and PC to the same display when needed would be to have both cables connected to the display and then plug in devices whenever you want, (permanently is need be), and just switch inputs on the display depending on use.

However it sounds like you want to hook up two PCs to this display, which begs the question why buy a display that has only seemed to cause you problems, especially when you knew first off it was Mac targetted?
__________________
Macintosh LCIII - PB 1400c - PB G3 'Lombard' - 12" PB G4 - 15" CD MBP - 24" iMac - 13" i5 MBP
iPod Photo 60GB - 2G iPod nano - iPhone 3G - iPhone 4
steve_hill4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 12:41 PM   #11
jsm4182
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Newburgh, NY
Send a message via AIM to jsm4182
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_hill4
Are there any alternative displays out there which have DVI and VGA inputs on them? A good compromise for someone wanting to hook up a Mac and PC to the same display when needed would be to have both cables connected to the display and then plug in devices whenever you want, (permanently is need be), and just switch inputs on the display depending on use.

However it sounds like you want to hook up two PCs to this display, which begs the question why buy a display that has only seemed to cause you problems, especially when you knew first off it was Mac targetted?
To do that you would need a display with just vga, a dvi graphics card can easily be connected with a vga monitor by using a small adapter that usually comes with the computer or can be purchased for around $20.
__________________
Mac Mini, 2.3ghz i7, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD, ML | MacBook Air 13", 1.3ghz i5, 1GB RAM, 128GB SSD, ML | iPhone 5 32GB White | iPad 3 64GB Black
jsm4182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 01:21 PM   #12
Mord
macrumors G4
 
Mord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old York
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislee8
Is it really impossible?

My 7600 has a DVI port, so it works for my PC with this monitor.

then what are you bitching about.

vga sucks it's blurry and gets interference, just do an all dvi setup, maybe buy a dual dvi port graphics card like a 6600

Last edited by Mord; May 9, 2006 at 02:55 AM.
Mord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 07:54 PM   #13
chrislee8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY, NY
Send a message via AIM to chrislee8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hector
then wat are you bitching about.

vga sucks it's blurry and gets interference, just do an all dvi setup, maybe buy a dual dvi port graphics card like a 6600
if u learn to read in full instead of bitching, i have two laptop(sony vaio and lenovo x41t) which don't have DVI port, that is why i m bitching, bitch.
chrislee8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 07:56 PM   #14
chrislee8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY, NY
Send a message via AIM to chrislee8
Quote:
Originally Posted by reh
You're confusing a DVI to VGA adapter with a VGA to DVI converter. They are not the same thing. What you bought allows you to connect a VGA display to a computer with a DVI port. What you need is a convertor that allows you to connect a DVI display to a computer with a VGA port (this is much more difficult, which is why it costs more).
I think that is it. You answered my doubts. Thanks so much.

I need to get rid of my beloved formac display now.
chrislee8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2006, 07:57 PM   #15
chrislee8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY, NY
Send a message via AIM to chrislee8
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_hill4
Are there any alternative displays out there which have DVI and VGA inputs on them? A good compromise for someone wanting to hook up a Mac and PC to the same display when needed would be to have both cables connected to the display and then plug in devices whenever you want, (permanently is need be), and just switch inputs on the display depending on use.

However it sounds like you want to hook up two PCs to this display, which begs the question why buy a display that has only seemed to cause you problems, especially when you knew first off it was Mac targetted?
it is ok, i m not saying it is end of world for me.
chrislee8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2006, 05:12 AM   #16
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
www.newegg.com

I got a 256mb fx5200 on there for $40 last month, check the refurbished section.
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect PC Monitor and Mac Display to MBP? ndDesign Mac Peripherals 0 Apr 26, 2013 11:56 AM
Connect to new Mac Mini Server without keyboard/display fa.ce Mac mini 15 Jan 21, 2013 02:13 AM
Trying to connect old Mac Mini to old 23-inch Cinema Display stanw Mac mini 14 Jan 17, 2013 12:00 PM
Need to connect my 23" Apple Cinema Display to my old beige Power Mac G3 tower sparkie7 PowerPC Macs 11 Dec 19, 2012 05:59 AM
trying to connect macbook pro 2010 to Mac G5 cinema display monitor Brody-Carmichae PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 5, 2012 07:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC