Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 12, 2006, 02:54 PM   #1
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
How to console into a cisco router through a USB to serial cable

Hey all

I guess I will start from scratch. I have an PC which has hyperTerminal on it which I use to configure routers,switches and so on. Is there a program on a mac that I can console into it so I can finally get rid of my PC. I already found a tftp client to use but how can I see what is going on in the router. Like setting the ip address and so on
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 03:20 PM   #2
jaxstate
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
You'll need a special Cisco cable. It's really nothing special, but the pin out for the cable is not straight through. After you have the correct cable, you should be able to hit the "enter" key on your keyboard and you'll get a prompt something like this.

router>

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflow
Hey all

I guess I will start from scratch. I have an PC which has hyperTerminal on it which I use to configure routers,switches and so on. Is there a program on a mac that I can console into it so I can finally get rid of my PC. I already found a tftp client to use but how can I see what is going on in the router. Like setting the ip address and so on
jaxstate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 03:31 PM   #3
oblomow
macrumors Demi-God
 
oblomow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
Send a message via AIM to oblomow
I use Zterm and a serial-to-usb cable to connect to the console of our sun
servers. This should work for your cisco's as well, using a cisco serial cable
of course.
oblomow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 04:22 PM   #4
Reflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxstate
You'll need a special Cisco cable. It's really nothing special, but the pin out for the cable is not straight through. After you have the correct cable, you should be able to hit the "enter" key on your keyboard and you'll get a prompt something like this.

router>
I have the blue cable just not the program
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 04:23 PM   #5
Reflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Quote:
Originally Posted by oblomow
I use Zterm and a serial-to-usb cable to connect to the console of our sun
servers. This should work for your cisco's as well, using a cisco serial cable
of course.
Do you know what the setting are on it. I downloaded it and it won't should any the comands on the router
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 04:41 PM   #6
oblomow
macrumors Demi-God
 
oblomow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
Send a message via AIM to oblomow
generally 9600 baud, 8 bits, no parity, 1 stop bit should work. select usbserial if you're using a serial-to-usb converter.
oblomow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2006, 05:06 AM   #7
ojav
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
selecting usbserial in ZTerm

Quote:
Originally Posted by oblomow
generally 9600 baud, 8 bits, no parity, 1 stop bit should work. select usbserial if you're using a serial-to-usb converter.

I am trying to use serial-usb cable to receive data to my PowerBook (which does not have a serial port). To make sure something is actually coming through, I installed ZTerm. But setting up ZTerm is a bit of a problem. Bauds, bits, parities and stop bits are not a problem. But "selecting usbserial"?

In windows the widget I am trying to connect to mac, is using com1 -port. In HyperTerminal connecting to com1 gives no problems. How do i do this in my mac?
ojav is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connect MAC to Cisco device using USB to Mini USB amrabari Mac Basics and Help 1 Apr 2, 2014 02:05 PM
IPad/IPhone won't conx to Cisco router BigDukeSix Mac Basics and Help 4 Dec 25, 2012 10:30 PM
FTDI USB-Serial Cable not working in ML trevorh7000 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Dec 12, 2012 10:13 AM
Time Capsule w/Cisco Router markp99 Mac Peripherals 1 Jul 30, 2012 01:46 PM
Thinking of a Cisco / Linksys Router? BasilFawlty Mac Peripherals 4 Jul 13, 2012 11:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC