Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 14, 2006, 02:58 PM   #1
neoelectronaut
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
HELP Macbook Pro Locks Up Upon Startup.

My 1.83Ghz Macbook Pro locks up either after the OS loading screen with a blank blue screen, or it loads up the finder, the dock, and menu bar, along with the icons on the screen, loads stickies, and just stops responding. The mouse can be moved, but clicking does nothing, almost as if I was just clicking on a big image of my desktop.

Where should I start with this issue?
neoelectronaut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 03:07 PM   #2
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Does it work in "Safe Mode"?

Link to do it here... http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106464
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 03:33 PM   #3
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked
Does it work in "Safe Mode"?

Link to do it here... http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106464
Works just fine in "Safe Boot".
neoelectronaut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 04:05 PM   #4
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
After I bit of googling I discovered it was the Security Update conflict with Adobe's Version Cue, whatever the hell that is.
neoelectronaut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2006, 02:18 PM   #5
veshman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
found the same problem

Hi, I had the same problem with Adobe Version Cue and security update 2006-003.

Apparently people have the same problem with Apple Remote Desktop


The fix was to remove the Version Cue stuff from the Startup Items (HD >> Library >> StartupItems)

ARD stuff is in HD >> System >> Library >> StartupItems

Bhavesh
veshman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 09:10 PM   #6
cr2sh
macrumors 68030
 
cr2sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: downtown
thank you for this thread. I just had this same problem with my new macbook.

We'll see if the fix gets it.

Damn you CS2!
__________________

MBP (early' 11/2.2/16GB/500GB/hi-res-ag)
cr2sh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro Sluggish at startup ajgrant MacBook Pro 2 Jan 27, 2014 01:54 AM
Macbook pro startup very slow iyahya MacBook Pro 15 Dec 2, 2013 01:13 PM
Macbook pro startup by itself ? Macpeecee MacBook Pro 4 Sep 26, 2013 12:23 AM
Slow Startup MacBook Pro 3,1 Moof1904 Mac Basics and Help 7 Mar 11, 2013 07:58 AM
Slow Startup MacBook Pro Jeremyboy222 MacBook Pro 9 Nov 3, 2012 11:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC