Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 14, 2006, 03:22 PM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Choose Intel Mac boot drive via remote control




Category: Tips and How To's
Link: Choose Intel Mac boot drive via remote control
Description:: none

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 03:36 PM   #2
ppc_michael
macrumors 65816
 
ppc_michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to ppc_michael
That. Is. Awesome.

This is why I love Apple: they think of everything.
__________________
-PPC_Michael
Apple is just a company. Think for yourselves.
ppc_michael is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 03:36 PM   #3
UberMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: England
How...."handy"

I can actually think of no use...

Uber
__________________
24 Beers in a crate, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence, I think not.
UberMac is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 03:37 PM   #4
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
That is soooo cool.

Right out of the box, right? No mods, no hacks, no third party apps. Just click the button. Very, very nice.

Ahem, why you'd be rebooting from ten feet away is another issue, but...
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 03:55 PM   #5
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan
That is soooo cool.

Right out of the box, right? No mods, no hacks, no third party apps. Just click the button. Very, very nice.

Ahem, why you'd be rebooting from ten feet away is another issue, but...
You could of set your mac to auto start when you get in and have left the remote near the door as you walk in to get stuff rolling quicker.
MacBoobsPro is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 04:03 PM   #6
appleguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Auckland, NZ
The next revision of the remote will have an boot button on it
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz 4GB RAM AppleTV 160GB, AppleTV 2 x2, 6TB NAS
iPhone 4s 32GB Black
; My Photography Website
appleguy is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 04:03 PM   #7
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: B'more
love it
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 04:53 PM   #8
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Hey it works... That's actually quite handy...
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 05:42 PM   #9
zap2
macrumors 604
 
zap2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington D.C
neat! useless for me but still cool
__________________
"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by." Will Rogers
zap2 is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 06:09 PM   #10
truz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Send a message via AIM to truz
it's handy if your laying down and have a dvd in the drive or want to setup music while.... *you know* and getting up is not an option I wish the remote would power the unit up and restart it. <- handy options. Also, need to work 20+ feet away and threw walls like some cable remotes do.
truz is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 07:55 PM   #11
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by truz
it's handy if your laying down and have a dvd in the drive or want to setup music while.... *you know* and getting up is not an option
Oh, I'm not disputing the use of the remote in general... but why are you rebooting in Windows while you're doing THAT?
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0
Old May 14, 2006, 10:18 PM   #12
truz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Send a message via AIM to truz
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan
Oh, I'm not disputing the use of the remote in general... but why are you rebooting in Windows while you're doing THAT?
Rebooting in mac.. It was only an idea, it can come handy for some of us.. I'm sure not the idea I gave but there could be plenty of reasons
truz is offline   0
Old May 15, 2006, 08:24 AM   #13
steve_hill4
macrumors 68000
 
steve_hill4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NG9, England
Send a message via ICQ to steve_hill4 Send a message via AIM to steve_hill4 Send a message via MSN to steve_hill4 Send a message via Yahoo to steve_hill4 Send a message via Skype™ to steve_hill4
Same as eject buttons on remotes, never seen the need. You have to get up to take the CD out right? Most drives also fly back in after a short time, so eject is useless.

You get up, switch your Mac on and ignore the keyboard in front of you and pick up the remote. You boot up in Windows and realise you need the keyboard and so switch back. You boot up in OS X to use front row and realise that's set as default and there was no need to use the remote for choosing your boot, just for Front Row. Pointless as far as I'm concerned.
__________________
Macintosh LCIII - PB 1400c - PB G3 'Lombard' - 12" PB G4 - 15" CD MBP - 24" iMac - 13" i5 MBP
iPod Photo 60GB - 2G iPod nano - iPhone 3G - iPhone 4
steve_hill4 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Awesome remote control app for mac qbait Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 0 Mar 11, 2014 02:23 PM
Filevault remote control problems for Mac administrators mattiasvdm OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jan 15, 2014 08:30 AM
Remote iOS App Updated to Add iTunes Radio Control on Mac or PC MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 26 Dec 17, 2013 11:27 AM
Use Onkyo remote to control XBMC Mac Mini? blanka Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Aug 31, 2013 05:00 AM
Remote control Mac dusk007 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Feb 12, 2013 10:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC