Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2006, 09:39 PM   #1
iPhil
macrumors 68030
 
iPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: A$$hat free location,and helping Mac bring back teh sexy-ness era back
Send a message via AIM to iPhil
Menu bar size Q's

Is there a way to increase the menu bar size like the dock?? ..

Today, I had a customer @ work and asked me on how to increase the size of the Menu - Bar thats the only thing that the customer is deciding on to buy a Mac or not ..

So please help me out with this problem for a possible sale with warranty
iPhil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2006, 10:36 PM   #2
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
That's a silly way to decide what computer to buy, but I'll answer anyway.

Apple doesn't provide a setting for this. Somebody may have written a utility to tinker with the menu bar look-and-feel, but I'm puzzled what the purpose would be.

Do they want it to have the magnification effect when the mouseover menu choices, just because it would look cool?

Do they want it taller with bigger text?
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2006, 10:43 PM   #3
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I know that if you use Quartz Debug to set the user interface resolution differently, the height of the menu bar changes from app to app, which suggests to me that, even if you can change it in the finder, it won't help as you toggle between apps.

If you change the default system font (and I forget how to do so), the menu bar height should change accordingly.

Or just reduce the resolution of the screen, and it'll look bigger.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2006, 11:46 PM   #4
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsw
If you change the default system font (and I forget how to do so), the menu bar height should change accordingly.
You don't know how to do that, jsw? Ha ha, that's something everyone should know. Oh wait, I don't know that either.

Now somebody else can post that information and make us both look foolish.
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this cylindrical 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2006, 12:28 AM   #5
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, I don't know how to change the Menu Bar size. System Fonts, on the other hand, are a doddle to modify... Well, not really. Did it once and completely wrecked OSX. Never mind.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2006, 06:10 AM   #6
emptyCup
macrumors 65816
 
emptyCup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
If your customer has trouble reading the menu bar, he probably has trouble seeing anything that small. Go to System Preferences > Monitors and dial the screen resolution back a notch. I've done this for several people with vision problems and they all prefer it.

You can also turn on the Zoom function under Universal Access (set to only a slight maximum zoom). I find that a nuisance, though.
emptyCup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2010, 07:27 PM   #7
ybouchard72
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
And this question will be more and more popular.... did you ever looked at a menu bar on a 27 inches iMac??? And on a 30 inches cinema display???
ybouchard72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2010, 10:28 PM   #8
John Doe 57
macrumors 65816
 
John Doe 57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Binghamton, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybouchard72 View Post
And this question will be more and more popular.... did you ever looked at a menu bar on a 27 inches iMac??? And on a 30 inches cinema display???
OK, 4 years old - Kind of weird to post opinions on this.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 3,1 | 6GB RAM | 240GB SSD ||| Lumix GH2 | Voigtländer 17.5mm F/0.95 | SLR Magic 12mm T/1.6 Wide ||| Vimeo | Soundcloud | Tumblr
John Doe 57 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2010, 08:09 AM   #9
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Doe 57 View Post
OK, 4 years old - Kind of weird to post opinions on this.
And there's misinformation to boot... (not that boot)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsw View Post
If you change the default system font (and I forget how to do so), the menu bar height should change accordingly.
Nope.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 10:16 PM   #10
philipjj61
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: On the Edge (of Palmwoods,Qld.)
If you hold Command Option and scroll the wheel you get incremental zoom. Just got a 27" Quad and this is good for now. You need to make sure this hasn't been changed in system preferences/mouse settings for it to work, but a blessing, I also have centralize pointer activated which is a little tricky to operate but I'm sure if I can push my pet dinosaur out the way for long enough, I'll get used to it.
Phil.
philipjj61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 12:38 PM   #11
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Phil, are you talking about zoom within a window? The question is about the menu bar.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 12:16 AM   #12
philipjj61
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: On the Edge (of Palmwoods,Qld.)
No, this is for the whole desktop in 10.6.8 and also 10.5.8 on my G5 iMac PPC,
I suspect also for most other systems. Best to try yourself. Phil.
philipjj61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 07:31 AM   #13
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Tried it, no zoom effect. But then, my scroll wheel is a bit balky anyway. (I have 10.5.8)
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Menu Bar Size Pndrgnsvc Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 11 Jul 25, 2011 11:17 PM
Account name in the menu bar danakm Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 9 Jul 21, 2011 07:39 AM
Apple Menu Bar: Mouse-over auto hide and show zdlyons OS X 8 Feb 27, 2011 01:51 PM
How can I stop mac menu bar appearing in games polo3400 Mac and PC Games 4 Feb 17, 2011 04:31 PM
Screen resolution problems results in double menu bar frannyy MacBook 0 Nov 6, 2010 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC