Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 3, 2006, 11:04 AM   #1
virtual.rx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
How to join a Mac to a PC network

I need to share files in my home network.

Is there any way to join my Macbook to my exsisting network consisting of 2 PC's?
virtual.rx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2006, 11:33 AM   #2
Stinkythe1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Send a message via AIM to Stinkythe1
First off, can you not even see any computers in the Network/Network Neighborhood?

1) What protocol are they using? (TCP/IP... netBEUI... ect)

2) Do the PC's have any drives/folders shared?

3) Maybe changing your workgroup to the same as the PC's might help?(Applications>Utilities>Directory Access>Unlock>SMB/CIFS>Configure>Workgroup)

4) Can only the PC's see the Mac but the mac can't see the pc's?

5) Can only the Mac see the PC's but the pc's can see the mac?


More info is better for us.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM hi-res screen
Stinkythe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2006, 11:39 AM   #3
alexstein
macrumors 6502a
 
alexstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
If you want more specific help please post more information. Maybe read through the article below.

Check This Out!
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina
alexstein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2006, 12:05 PM   #4
funkychunkz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Send a message via MSN to funkychunkz
Apple has an extensive knoweledge base:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=19652 for tiger and panther

and another pertaining document: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107083
funkychunkz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2006, 06:10 AM   #5
virtual.rx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
I finally got it working!

Thanks for your help, again.
virtual.rx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use Airport Express to Join a Wireless Network then bridge to AE knemonic Mac Peripherals 2 Mar 11, 2013 11:53 AM
Changed ISP today and now can't get Time Capsule to join existing network imacken Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 26, 2013 03:25 PM
Keeps asking to join wireless network seabreeze02 MacBook 1 Dec 9, 2012 08:12 PM
Airport Express will not join network AndersHP Mac Peripherals 4 Oct 17, 2012 03:38 PM
iPad3 won't join Airport Network drgrafix iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Jul 19, 2012 06:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC