Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

seenew

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Dec 1, 2005
Brooklyn
I'm buying an iMac this week, and I really wanted a wireless keyboard/mouse, but I'm tempted by the Mighty Mouse... I read a review that said it wasn't very good, 2/5 stars..

advice?

Heb1228

macrumors 68020
Feb 3, 2004
Virginia Beach, VA
I think you'd be happier with a nice wireless 2-button mouse. But it all comes down to personal preference. Go in a store that has all the different options you're looking at and try them for a few minutes.

eji

macrumors 6502
Jun 8, 2004
INW
I love the Mighty Mouse. I've been using mine for about 2 months, and every time I have to use my wife's iBook, I start clicking on mouse buttons that don't exist. I don't know how I survived so contentedly on one button for so long.

I really don't have too much trouble with the indistinct buttons, which is the negative aspect I think the revews have tended to focus on. And I like the ability to scroll both horizontally and vertically or invoke Dashboard with the (customizable) center button.

Also, with wireless, you've got to continually recharge or replenish the batteries, and there's the worrying chance that they won't work with some boot modes. What happens if you've got to boot your computer into some basic diagnostic mode and your wireless BT keyboard isn't recognized? For me, I prefer the safety of hardwired hardware.

Ubuntu

macrumors 68020
Jul 3, 2005
UK/US
eji said:
I love the Mighty Mouse. I've been using mine for about 2 months, and every time I have to use my wife's iBook, I start clicking on mouse buttons that don't exist. I don't know how I survived so contentedly on one button for so long.