Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 8, 2006, 08:19 PM   #1
oddone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
Internet Explorer only sites

I visit a lot of sites, especially https:// sites that require internet explorer. Is there a work around this? I have multiple web browsers loaded on my mac and prefer firefox since that is what I used when I had a pc. I also have safari and Opera. With all the people in the world using mac's there has to be a way to access an explorer only site with a mac. BTW, yes I have the explore 5.something on my mac but even that does not always work!
oddone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2006, 08:26 PM   #2
EricNau
Moderator
 
EricNau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Do you happen to have an intel Mac? You could run IE through Windows and then you wouldn't have any problems.

I guess you could try other browsers for OS X, but if Safari, Firefox, and Opera don't work, I doubt any others will. You could try: Camino, OmniWeb, and Netscape.

EDIT: I had no idea what you meant by an IE only site, until I just got one. How weird.

I assumed you meant the pages just weren't loading properly. Oh well.

Last edited by EricNau; Jun 8, 2006 at 08:38 PM.
EricNau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2006, 08:27 PM   #3
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
If you enable the Debug menu in Safari, you can get it to mimic other browsers. You enable this menu by closing Safari and typing the following in Terminal.


Code:
% defaults write com.apple.Safari IncludeDebugMenu 1

To turn it off again, replace the 1 at the end with a 0.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2006, 08:35 PM   #4
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Firefox also has this plugin which changes the user agent. This means you can pretend you are using Internet Explorer which may for the site.

All of these may cause the site not to display correctly.

I would also complain to the site owner, especially if it displays correctly.
__________________
Actually it does make sense. Man created god, so if we exist, He exists. - obeygiant

Last edited by Eraserhead; Jun 8, 2006 at 08:41 PM.
Eraserhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2006, 09:58 PM   #5
oddone
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
Thanks for the info. I tried the debug for Safari. It did not work. This may not suprise anyone but me but the biggest pains in the but are the Boy Scouts and The state department of ed. I can log into their sites using a number of different browsers but when I try to upload data and/or information I can not! I have tried view as IE in both firefox and safari to no avail. These sites also do not support the older IE for mac.

So what is Camino and does it have similar problems with IE only pages?
oddone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2006, 10:24 PM   #6
oddone
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
I downloaded and installed camino. Same issues exist. BUMMER! Camino looks nice but I think I'll stick with firefox which I have grown to love!

BTW, No I do not have a new mac intel machine. Since I just bought this machine in the fall it will be at least 3 yrs before I buy a new one. Double Bummer!

I wish more people would complain about stuff like this. I often feel like the only one.
oddone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 11:27 AM   #7
iYooper
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ironwood
IE and websites

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddone
I visit a lot of sites, especially https:// sites that require internet explorer. Is there a work around this? I have multiple web browsers loaded on my mac and prefer firefox since that is what I used when I had a pc. I also have safari and Opera. With all the people in the world using mac's there has to be a way to access an explorer only site with a mac. BTW, yes I have the explore 5.something on my mac but even that does not always work!
Correct me if I'm wrong, but those websites that can only be accessed with IE were programmed to do that when the website was created. There is a bit of code that can be changed; right now it probably limits it to IE, but savvy website designers will take the "IE" ot of the code, and it'll work. I've seen this done.
iYooper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 11:44 AM   #8
kgarner
macrumors 68000
 
kgarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Utah
I've had good luck with Opera for a lot of IE only sites. I don't have many that I frequent that have this deficiency, but it has worked for me in the past.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad | Mini 1.42 G4 (running as HTPC)
digitalsandbox.net
"Monkeys are like bacon. They improve just about anything." -Andy Ihnatko
kgarner is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Explorer Newmacer2 Mac Basics and Help 20 Apr 23, 2014 10:55 AM
How can I get Internet explorer on Mac? Guppy51 Mac Basics and Help 8 Nov 17, 2013 01:48 PM
Internet Explorer 5.2 for Mac RedCroissant PowerPC Macs 6 Oct 29, 2013 06:55 AM
iPad Mini: Internet Explorer bazzerfs iPad 6 Jun 27, 2013 10:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC